Didn’t I say life would be interesting with us??

Standard

Wow…what a weekend! This marks the first time that we have officially moved Wesley out of our house.  Yes, he’s been to college, completed a tour in Iraq, attended (attending) UNC-Charlotte – but through all of these, there has still been a bed and chest of drawers (and clothes and shoes sprawled everywhere)  in his room marking his territory AND guaranteeing that he will be back home at some point.  Today…the room is empty.  Wes is now in an apartment in Charlotte where he and his soon-to-be bride will live together in about three weeks.

I’m not sad but there is a vacancy in my heart.  I know that the birds have to leave the nest, but it’s not easy letting them go.  Oh how many times I’ve thought, “One day, I’m not going to have to pick up these dirty clothes from the middle of the floor and my house will actually be clean!”  Funny….I’ll miss those plaid boxers laying in the middle of the floor as only Wesley could leave them.  Oh yeah, there are plenty of other things to pick with two other boys (and a husband)  in the house, but the laundry is getting lighter.  Never thought my heart would long for more laundry to do.  Oh well, now it’s Kendal’s turn (Kendal, I use Snuggle fabric softener and Wes really likes the smell..).

Of course, the weekend couldn’t just end on a nostalgic note.  First, let me tell you that as “old lady” as this may sound, one of my favorite things to do every night is wash my face, change my clothes and hit the recliner.  Since I get up at 5:30am, I’m pretty much out by 10:30 (or as soon as I lay my head back).  Last night, at 9pm or so, I was just getting ready to wash my face and Steve comes in and says, “I need you outside – now.”  Um…can’t you see I’m about to wash my face?  And Eli is awake…can’t he help you?  But no, the submissive wife that I am, I threw on my shorts and headed outside.  Steve says, “Remember the yelping we heard earlier today that we thought was coming from the neighbor’s yard? Well, I think it’s coming from your mom’s out building. I think there’s a puppy stuck in there.”  Wait…did you say puppy?  Great.  My mom’s building is chock full of stuff, and it was dark, and Steve is the biggest arachno-phobe I’ve ever met, so getting into the room was a challenge all it’s own.  But yes, there was a little puppy, probably no more than 5 weeks old, and he had lodged himself in the farthest back corner of the building.  After a lot of maneuvering, we finally reached the little guy and got him out.  Eli was beaming (because the 2 dogs we have on 1/2 acre lot are not already enough…help me, Lord…) and Caleb was claiming (“I’m going to train him to be a hunting dog and he can go fishing with me”…and I will hug him and pet him and name him George…sure you will) and I was praying, “Lord, what have I done to make you so angry with me?”  And my precious husband looks at me and starts laughing. Because he knows….

SO…I ask for your prayers as we figure out what to do with this little guy.  I mean…I just got rid of dirty laundry, right??

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

4 responses »

  1. That is adorable, yes I remember well the feeling when you children left “the nest”. Even though at first now one was far away there was still an emptiness that is hard to explain. Love you. Mom

  2. Robin. . . you are just the coolest woman ever. I don’t think I’ve ever known anyone who had such an overwhelming amount of outer beauty that could still be so easily out-shined every day by her inner beauty. You go, girl!!!

  3. Bless your heart! I know all about the empty nest thing. Our oldest is in the USAF, stationed in Albuquerque, NM, and his lovely family includes a charming wife and three boys–our only grandchildren. We are near Knoxville, TN, so you can see that we don’t get to do much spoiling, but I’m very thankful that they are in a wonderful church and have a tremendous witness in their community. Our youngest is a bit closer, as she and her hubby live near Chattanooga, but they are quite busy and we don’t see them often, either. I have learned that, when our children are born, we begin to train them to become independent, and if we do the job right, with the Lord’s help, they do leave us physically, although they will always be in our hearts. As for that precious pup, if you have any idea whom he might belong to, that would be the first thought. It would seem, though, that you have lost one child and gained another, with four legs and a woebegone expression on his face. Congratulations, Mom! 🙂 By the way, I love the picture of Wes and Kendal and am sure they will have a blessed marriage.

Leave a Reply

