Oh my steve…make the yelping stop!

Standard

“Oh my steve…”

Such a funny phrase that seems really dumb unless you know the reason behind using it.  Our youngest son, Eli (comedian without even trying) says to my mother one day, “You know, you’re not supposed to use God’s name in vain.” To which my mother replied, “Yes that’s right Eli.”  Eli then says, “But I can use my dad’s name in vain – Oh my steve!” Oh Eli… Needless to say my mother was once again rendered speechless and could only laugh at him.  So, I’ve adopted the phrase “oh my steve” for those “shaking my head” moments in life.  And believe me, there are plenty around our house.

As you can probably imagine reading the title of this blog, the little puppy we found this past weekend has made his presence known in a BIG way.  Poor little unnamed guy was in bad shape when we found him; dehydrated, covered in ticks, scared to death.  So naturally, he was very lethargic and quiet when we first brought him into the house.  My husband Steve, a.k.a. Dr. Dolittle, took off to Petsmart to talk to the vet and to buy ALL of their recommended remedies  (and I’m sure spent a fortune which means I get to take a trip to Ulta to off-set what he spent…it’s only fair).  He was going to nurse this pup back to health.  Problem was, it worked.  Why a problem?  The pup livened up – like ALL NIGHT LONG. That dog yelped from 11pm to 5am.  True story.  I listened closely to see if he even took breaths between yelps.  I haven’t wanted to smother a sweet little bundle of joy like him since the last puppy we brought home (which, by the way, I swore would never happen again. NO MORE PUPPIES.  I’m still trying to figure out what I did to deserve this.)

Funny thing; when all of us were up this morning getting ready for the day, the yelping stopped.  Seems Mr. Happy Pup simply wanted some company or for us to know he was feeling better.  After pooping 3 times and peeing once on the laundry room floor (because the rule is no animals past the laundry room. Ever. No matter what. Yeah, I’m mean like that.), he was ready to play.  Just in time for us to leave.  Awesome. I guess he’ll sleep all day and then….

Oh my steve….

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

3 responses »

  1. Bless your heart! That’s one reason we will not have a puppy! Well, that, plus the fact that we’re not allowed to have pets in the apartment, except for SMALL ones. When we first moved in, though, that landlord (who has since passed away) was VERY strict, and would evict a person if he found them with an animal of any kind, even a bird! The current landlord is more lenient, but that could change, so we’ll just remain petless. We have always preferred cats, which are much easier to care for and not nearly as noisy and needy. I hope this little guy will feel a bit more secure soon so you can all get a better night’s rest! As for Eli, I’ll bet you have lots of fun with him around!

  2. I guess you are praying for patience and Lord right now.
    He is cute but I am not an animal lover of any kind. Love you and good luck.
    Mom

  3. Oh My! I love animals but I love them outdoors not in my house! But it is hard to say no when they look at you with those sad little puppydog eyes and then you give in! Good Luck and I hope he will get better at not keeping you up allnight. He is a pretty puppy kinda sorta looks like a Lab.

    Carol Thomas (CJ)

Leave a Reply

