“Use this to keep you motivated.” Love, Eli

Standard

I don’t know about you, but some mornings I’m more weary than others (like when a puppy gets me up several times in the night with his yelping…yeah, like that…).  This morning, I drug myself into the living room where I start my morning routine on my knees, spending time with the Lord, and then reading my Bible.  I can tell you that no matter how weary I feel, spending time with the Lord and in His word makes a difference in me and in my day.  God’s word is truly the light for my life’s journey and the source of my strength.

This morning in particular, I needed something to get me going – to get me  ‘motivated’, if you will.  I read from the Psalms, chapter 17 and the last verse jumped out at me:  “As for me, I will see Your face in righteousness; I shall be satisfied when I awake in Your likeness.” Psa 17:15.  It was just the motivation that I needed.  When I find myself struggling in this world, as a Christian, I’m to remember that this world is not my home.   I will not be completely satisfied and at rest until I reach my “home”,  heaven, and I am then found in His likeness – the likeness of Christ.

I liken it to Wes & Kendal looking forward to their wedding day in less than 2 weeks.   It’s a monumental day in their lives!  They are both counting down the days (hours, minutes) until they say, “I do” and commit themselves to each other forever as man and wife.  No matter what happens today, they have a brighter day to look forward to in 10 days; their wedding day.   It’s the same for the Christian.  No matter what happens today, we, the bride of Christ, have a greater day ahead; the day our bridegroom returns to take us to be with Him forever.  Now THAT’S motivation.

Oh, and just in case I needed more motivation for the day, I thumbed through my Bible and found a note that Eli had written to me probably 4-5 years ago.

It reads, “I love you! Keep this to keep you motivated. and Dad.”  Now that’s precious, right?  Haha…I’m not sure if he meant for me to keep the note and dad (Steve) to keep me motivated or that the note was to keep me and dad motivated.  Both work for me. 🙂

So there’s your motivation!  Be blessed today!!

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

4 responses »

  1. There’s nothing like God’s Word…and a note from one of your kids (or grandkids!) to keep you motivated! Thanks for sharing, Robin! Love these!

  2. What a precious note!! I, too, begin my mornings with a devotional time. These days, I do it online, as I am able to copy and paste a passage onto my first Facebook status of the day without having to type all those words myself. (Yes, I’m a lazy old woman!) My readings have been in the Old Testament, through all the days of God’s people’s wandering in the wilderness, and now I’m in 2 Kings, reading about how so many of those kings “did evil in the sight of the Lord.” It keeps me on my toes, because I don’t want to be one of those people who drag others down the wrong road. Thank you for reminding us of the glorious hope we have in Christ, that we will one day awake in His likeness! I’ll let my thoughts dwell on that today. 🙂

  3. Love it and the scripture is so true. Can’t wait for that final wedding when we as the bride of Christ with be joined with Him in Heaven.

  4. This was precious! I remember those little notes Richard used to write to me during church services! They like your note would just make my day! Thank you for this blog Robin and God Bless!

Leave a Reply

