I guess a friend does stick closer than a brother…

Standard

I guess if you’ve been following my posts, you’ll remember the empty bedroom upstairs…the one we cleaned out when we moved Wes to Charlotte.  Well, since the day Wes & Kendal set their wedding date, our youngest, Eli,  has been counting down the days until he has his own room.  Now, you would think that Caleb, our 15 year old, would be just as anxious, if not more so, to get away from a shared bedroom and into his own space, right?  When Steve asked Caleb if he was ready to move his stuff into his new bedroom, he just shook his head.  Steve said, “You’re not ready to move out of Eli’s room, huh?”  “Nope,” he said, with a sideways grin.  Heartwarming, I know.  Steve and I looked at each other, clearly relishing the rarity of this sweet moment.  Then our precious Eli looks up and says, “Well too bad.  I want you out.  I’ve waited to have my own room for 11 years.”  *screeching brakes*…So much for the Kodak moment.

Wow, that was cold, huh?  Eli got the talk right away; “Eli, that was not nice.  You should be thankful for your brother wanting to stay in your room.  He wants to be near you…you hurt his feelings…”  Blah, blah, blah.  Eli responds with eye rolls.

Now, before you think Eli should be thrown under the next bus, I’ll tell you; Caleb hasn’t been easy to live with lately.  You see, I’m safe in saying this in my blog because he will never take the time to read it (unless one of my readers decides to tell him what I’m sharing…please don’t!).  In the past, Caleb & Eli were like best friends and to honest, Eli looked up to Caleb for everything.  If Caleb did it, Eli wanted to do it.  If Caleb wore it, Eli wanted to wear it.  But when Caleb hit 7th grade, things changed.  Caleb started acting like an older brother instead of a buddy.  Now Caleb’s 15.  Eli has been his punching bag for the past 3 years and he’s fed up.  He’s done with being tripped, “titty twisted”, name called, pushed around, punched, forced to sacrifice the middle oven-baked orange roll (we all want that one).  Eli sees an escape and he’s ready to take it!  It’s human nature right?

In pondering this situation between our boys, the scripture we’ve all heard, “there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother” came to mind so I thought I’d look it up.  It’s found in Proverbs, written by the wisest of men, King Solomon.  The verse actually reads, “A man who has friends must himself be friendly, But there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.”  (Proverbs 18:24)    It would stand to reason that to have a friend one must be friendly. Check one for Eli’s wanting some separation.  But the latter part speaks volumes to me.  There is a friend – Jesus Christ – who sticks closer than a brother.  Closer than a friend.  Even closer than a parent at times.  Jesus sees everything we’ve ever done,  or ever will do;  all that we think, or ever will think – AND HE LOVES US ANYWAY…enough to die to save us!

Whew! What peace and relief, right?  Not just for Caleb (haha) but for ME!  For ALL of us!  During our worst times, when we’ve heard the call of the Lord yet resisted Him; when we’ve decided to follow our own ways rather than His; when we’ve denied His goodness and his power to heal, save, and deliver – Jesus never for a moment stopped loving us and pursuing us.  He never wanted us to “move out”.   As a Christian, that makes my heart sing!  For the unbeliever, it should cause you to wonder, “Really?  How is this so?  I want to know more about this Jesus.”  And I’d love to tell you about my Savior who sticks even closer than a brother.

Just a quick update on the puppy….NO YELPING LAST NIGHT!  Oh blessed sleep!  How I’ve missed you!!  The trick…letting him sleep outside the crate right next to Macy.  When he starts chewing things, Macy will just have to go in the crate with him. 🙂

I suppose the puppy just needed someone in his “room”, too.  Maybe I should have Caleb sleep with the new puppy.

We did take him to the vet and I have a shocking photo to share (beware, it will make your skin crawl!):

These are TICKS.  The ones we pulled off of the puppy.  The vet pulled an additional 24 ticks off of him yesterday so he’s tick-free now, just have to watch him for possible disease from the tick bites.

Oh, and he’s no longer un-named thanks to Eli.  He”s affectionately been named “Tick-Tac” (because of all of the ticks he’s endured).  Caleb thinks the name is dumb. Of course he does…

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

4 responses »

  1. Love it and oh what a truth that Jesus does stick closer than a brother. He is with us all the time.
    Love the photos. Mom

  2. So happy that the pup has found some solace so you could get some sleep! Those ticks are horrible, and I’m sure he feels better with them gone. Hope there will be no diseases from the time he had them. Sooooo thankful for our Friend who has promised that He will never leave nor forsake us. I’m enjoying getting to know your family…..sounds like you might be searching for a dull moment every now and then! 🙂

  3. I so enjoy your blog. I think you should be a writer of daily devotions. You are able to apply everyday situations to bible verses in such a wonderful way. You are such an inspiration.

    • Lorie – thank you so much! This has been such a fun way to write – which I love – about my family – which keeps the subject interesting – and about my Lord who continues to bless me every day!

Leave a Reply

