Mommy, Mama, Mom…they all mean the same thing; blessed.

Standard

It was easy to decide today what to write about as we approach Mother’s Day this weekend.  To say that I’m thankful for the opportunity to be a mother is the understatement of my life.  I thank the Lord every single day for my three boys; they’re  such treasures (even though there are days I’d like to bury them…and dig them up later, of course..get it?  Buried treasure?)!

I know every mother would agree that along with being the greatest blessing, motherhood is the greatest challenge we face as well.  But oh the lessons we learn from our children!  Here’s a little “thank you” I’d like to share today.  I need to preface this, however, by saying that I love all three of my boys EQUALLY – NO QUESTION ABOUT IT!  But as I was riding to work today, I realized that in 8 days, our oldest will be getting married and I started reflecting on all the life changes we’ve faced leading up to the day I become a mother-in-law and Wes becomes a husband. So, I’m going to share some of the thoughts from my heart.  You’ll get to read about how Caleb & Eli bless my heart daily as I continue this blog.  And boys, know your Mama loves you…to the moon and back. ❤

Wes – Thank you for being the first child to experience everything for us (I’m not sure you would see that as a blessing since you were our learning curve).   Did you know that when I was pregnant with you I  read the Bible out loud to you and prayed over you every morning?  Cherished moments.  You were my first delivery (thanks for being 2 weeks late, by the way. I learned to love morphine the day you were born…you where a whopper) and how well I remember tears of joy pouring as I stared in pure wonder at your chubby little self when you discovered this world.  Talk about sudden change!  All at once I felt protective, afraid, nurturing, anxious, blessed, overwhelmed…but mostly, I felt needed.  You needed me for everything and I wanted to be there for every minute of your little life.

Thank the Lord I’ve been able to watch you grow – playing and exceeding in sports, breaks and sprains  (like breaking 3 fingers in one basketball season?? Probably didn’t help that dad thought they were jammed and proceeded to “un-jam” them by pulling them. Sorry buddy…), drivers-ed and drivers licenses, buying you a car (and selling it when you got your first ticket…we warned you, didn’t we?),  prom, graduation,  joining the U S Marine Corps, seeing you off to boot camp on my birthday (and writing to you every single day while you were there), kissing you goodbye when you left on Mother’s Day for CA to train for a deployment, holding you when we said good-bye as you left for Iraq to defend our country – proud and scared all at the same time (crazy emotional), literally jumping into your arms when you returned home (best day ever), seeing you fall in the deepest kind of love with a precious daughter of God (I love you, Kendal) and counting down the next 8 days until you marry her; but most of all, watching you grow into a man of God, eagerly seeking the Lord every single day to discover His plan for your life and being willing to surrender to it no matter what it costs.  You continue to bless my heart every day (oh, and way to go, Mr. 4.0 GPA at UNCC…).

                                                       

                                   

Looking at these pictures reminds me of what a happy and blessed family we are.  If I’ve been any kind of mother to my boys, it’s because of the sweet lady Wes is holding in the last picture.  My mom, Janice Allman, is truly a picture of Christ.  While I tend to be more like my dad (not a bad thing…most days…;)) my prayer is that I could be at least half the mother that she has been and continues to be to me.

Mom, I don’t tell you enough how much I love you, but really words wouldn’t do my feelings for you justice.  I know you must feel taken for granted many days and I’m sincerely sorry because I know that I’m guilty of that.  But know this; I pray that when you go to heaven, I’m right beside you heading up in the rapture because I never want to face a day on this earth without you.  I love you Mommy, Mama, Mom.

Happy Mother’s Day, Moms!

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

8 responses »

  1. That’s a good one Sis. I truly enjoy reading these, if for nothing else, to keep up with you. But they do more than that so keep them coming. I love you.
    Big Brother

  2. Oh, you have brought back such sweet–and bittersweet–memories for me! The joy of holding that precious new baby boy for the first time, then watching him grow into a man of God is just unspeakable, yet you have spoken it well for all of us moms. I’m sure your own dear mother will be doing a lot of cake baking for this special occasion, and I hope she will take some time off from her work (which I’m sure she enjoys) to give herself a time of reflection and relaxation. Even though motherhood can be a real challenge, it still is the most blessed gift, besides the gift of Christ, that God has given us women. Our son is in the USAF; fortunately, his deployment was to Bahrain, to serve in a security position, watching the mail as it came through on its way into and out of that war-torn region. An element of danger, of course, but nothing like the path that your wonderful Marine was traveling. Please thank him for me, and I share your joy that he returned safely. Thank you for another lovely glimpse into your heart. Oh, and HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!! 🙂

  3. Now you made me cry. What a beautiful story of your eldest. I love you too.
    Happy Mother’s Day to you to.

  4. Well said Robin, well said….our first born is the one that gets us ready for things that face us all the first time. Being a mom is the best thing ever! Thanks for sharing and hope you and your mom both have a fabulous Mother’s Day! Love you both!

Leave a Reply

