Chillin’ like a shillin’ (as in a shilling)

Standard

What a blessed weekend!  I love Mother’s Day and each one is more special year after year.   My boys are growing up!  But much as I miss their little chubby hands grabbing at my face and their fat little legs sitting on my lap; I appreciate more every day the kisses on my cheeks that my boys now have to bend down to plant on me.  It’s no lie; they do grow up fast.

Let’s be honest, though.  As a parent, there is a certain satisfaction – a joy even – that comes when you can get one over on your kids, right?  I hesitate to say we enjoy embarrassing our children, but sometimes, we do!  Especially when they’re teens and tweens.  I enjoyed such a time this past weekend. 🙂

I received an email last week that announced “Mother/Son Date Knight” from Chick-fil-a.  “Make your reservations now!”  Our family loves Chick-fil-a so I thought, “That’s cool; dinner we love with the boys for Mother’s Day.”  I admit, the “date Knight” had me wondering what might be taking place so I searched the email for an age limit, and when I saw none, I signed us up.  5:30 on  Saturday.  We were to bring our invitations and an i.d. (hard core event….) and be on time.

As soon as I told the boys we were going (and no, Caleb, you don’t have the option to opt out) I got the usual, “Oh my gosh- seriously?” from Caleb (although he eventually warmed to the idea), while Eli started planning what he would wear to our “date” (love that kid).  We got all dressed up (meaning clean jeans and t-shirts) and headed to Chick-fil-a with our official invitation!

One step inside the door and I knew I had just brought our 15 year old and 11 year old to a 5 year old’s party.                   It. Was. Awesome.

Caleb looks at me like he could die (most exaggerated eye roll ever) and even Eli asked me what I’d gotten us into.  Too late now, we’re already in the door and being summoned by the “hostess”.  We showed her our invitation and she led us to a table with fake gold shillings, a cardboard crest (for them to draw on) and a paper with questions all about being a “knight”.  But that’s not all…we were ushered to a line where we were to wait to have our picture made together!  Sweet, right??  Yes sweet…inside the makeshift room were two 3′ cardboard columns, made up to look like they were stone covered, sitting on either side of one chair.  The chair was supposed to be for the mom to sit on while holding her little “knight” on her lap for their picture to be made.  In our case, we could all three hardly all fit in the room with the photographer.  And the look on her face was priceless.  I think her expression read, “Are you serious right now?”  Lol!  But ever the professional, the photographer welcomed us inside and asked me to sit in the chair while giving Caleb a plastic shield to hold (that was barely bigger than his hand), and Eli a small plastic  sword.  Each took a knee beside me, leaned in really close and *click* I had my picture with my knights.

When we went back to the table, there was the cardboard crest for them to draw on.  Let’s see, what would represent our family?  A lion for courage?  A bear for faithfulness?  A mouse for humility?  Caleb – “Who would draw a mouse for their family crest?  That’s stupid.  My bear will eat that mouse.”  So much for humility…

Thanks Chick-fil-a for such a wonderful date “knight” with my boys!  It’s one we will never forget.  And as Caleb so aptly put it, “I guess we’re chillin’ like a shillin’.”  Oh yeah…that’s my clever knight.

 

*****************QUICK UPDATE******************

Yes, as of now we still have Tick-Tac, and all I can say is….he’s only getting cuter.  Lord help us….

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

6 responses »

  1. That is adorable, I wish I could have been a fly on the wall to see all of that. That is one for the books. Love you.

  2. That’s one your boys can tell their children about some day! Just all a part of making wonderful memories with the family! It’s about time Mom was able to get one on the boys!!

  3. Another good one I would love to have been a fly on the wall and seen all this take place! This will be a great memory!

Leave a Reply

