Countdown…

Standard

“Today is my last staff meeting….” (gasps) “…that I’ll be without a daughter-in-law.”   HA! Got ’em.  That was fun.  My colleagues at work immediately went from *gasps* to “Awwwww, how sweet!”

In addition to this being my last staff meeting before the wedding, it’s also my last day at work this week.  As excited as I am about some vacation days, my list is mounting for what needs to be done before Saturday.  And I am so afraid I’m going to miss something.  It has me a little stressed…

And stress is even more exaggerated at my house…a house full of guys.  Besides Kendal, my future daughter-in-law, there’s no one under my roof who can truly relate to me. Ever.   So, my stress sometimes manifests itself and causes me to become a little bit “short” in my responses, which brings on, “Geez, why are you so mad?” To which I respond very passionately, brow furrowed, “I’M NOT MAD!”  Oh really…okay.  Most recent manifestation was last night.

When I think about it, I don’t know why I’m stressed, if I am; and I know I’m not mad.  I don’t really know what I am right now.  Yes, there’s a lot on my mind regarding things to be done before the wedding and yes, my house needs a complete cleaning top to bottom this week.  Yes I need a pedicure and I still haven’t bought food for the dinner Friday night; but that’s not really what has me stressed…I don’t think.   Then what in the world is it?

(Wow…reading this, I can see why men get so frustrated trying to figure out women!)

Then, my “ah-ha” moment arrived in the form of my sweet boss, Susan.  She stopped by to tell me congratulations on the upcoming weekend and she says, “I’ll be thinking about you.  It’s really going to be bittersweet.”  Bittersweet?  Why bittersweet?  I’m gaining a daughter-in-law!  Wes is marrying the woman of his dreams who loves the Lord – someone I’ve prayed for his whole life!  How could there be anything bitter about that?

“For the first time, you’ll become secondary.”  Hmmmm…secondary.  Susan then leaves me with this pearl as she’s walking out the door…”You’ll just have to pray for those grandbabies to come!”

MAJOR SCREECHING BRAKES!!

Hold the phone!  I am not ready to be a Mamaw! Ahhh! (I feel like I  need to get my hair touched up just thinking about this…)

That’s when it hit me.  This week is leading up to the most monumental event our family has experienced since Eli was born.  Of course I’m not losing a son on Saturday;  I’m gaining a daughter!  But I’m also becoming more and more my mother, figuratively speaking.  That’s not at all a bad thing, but a gripping reality, nonetheless.

The gripping reality part is that after this weekend, our first wedding, we’ll be attending Caleb’s graduation before we know it (I know he’s a freshman, but it will be here soon enough).  Eli will be in high school in 2 years….and my nest will begin to empty out.  Wow…so this is what getting older really feels like.

Funny thing is, I’ve never thought of myself as so sappy and sentimental as all of this, but I guess when it comes to my own kids, I am.

Life truly does go on…. I suppose I need to learn now to relax and enjoy the ride.

                                              

Wes, USMC                                                Caleb – Western HS lacrosse       Eli – Western MS genius

Hey, at least I have a HUNK to ride with.

**Hey, wanna know what  is REALLY stressing me out?  I think my chin and neck are starting to fall.  What a wonderful birthday present. I’m seriously saving my money for a Lifestyle Lift.

Until then…exercises; chin juts, jaw stretches, neck flexes…oh joy.

p.s. went to Chick-fil-a to get the picture of me with my knights and only 4 pictures out of 500 didn’t print…you guessed it.  So they’re re-printing them and mailing ours.  Patience…they’ll be posted as soon as I get them! 🙂

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

One response »

  1. Sweetie, one thing that age has taught me, and I’m sure your mom will agree to some extent, is that women don’t HAVE to know WHY we’re stressed! If we are, we are, and no explaining or rationalizing will make it better! That’s just one of those SFGTD things. HE is the great de-stresser, and I know you’ll be fine. I have been the mother of the groom AND the mother of the bride at different times, and the only way to avoid all the stress is to hire someone to do all the work for you, then all you have to stress over is paying the bills! (We couldn’t afford to do that, so just had to deal with it!) Well, you are on your way, my dear, and all will be well. You have the best attitude toward your “new” daughter, and I’m sure the days ahead will be wondrous and fulfilling for all of you! I’ll even say a little prayer for you! We never can get too many of those. 🙂

Leave a Reply

