“It’s only for a moment you were mine to hold…”

Standard

I’m going to preface this entry by saying that this week, my blog will be chocked full of wedding stories!  I have no lack of things to write about and I want to share them with you all!

Wow, what a weekend we’ve had!  Saturday was simply the perfect day for for an outdoor wedding.  And, as I’m certainly not biased, I can say without doubt that out of all of the 100’s of weddings I’ve been part of, Wes & Kendal’s was by far the most beautiful.

Image

Christ was at the center of every part.

For the first time, I sat on the front row, right hand side reserved for the groom’s mother alone.  And my direct view was our oldest son, dressed in complete dress blues (ooh rah), my husband (best man…in every way), and my two younger sons proudly awaiting the entry of the bride.

As the song, “When I Say I Do”, by Matthew West began to play, for the first time, my Marine began to cry.

He saw his bride coming and this was the moment he had been waiting for…

Image

I suppose I had cried so much leading up to this day that I was able to simply beam with joy for him.  Anyone who saw Kendal would agree that she was a picture of beauty; but her beauty is far beyond what can be seen on the outside. I saw her just before I was seated and she said, “I’m so happy, I just can’t stop crying…”  Let it go, girl.  It’s a beautiful thing to see someone so overwhelmed with love that all they can do is cry.

Image

How many times I’ve felt that way…as a wife, as a mother, as a daughter.  Tears sometimes say what words can’t express.

I’ll pick up right here tomorrow as I share this week about the wedding that has added a new member to “The Riggins Life”.  But I can’t end this post without a funny story…

At the end of the wedding, Eli came up to me BAWLING.  He was able to hold it together during the ceremony, but after it was over, the water works began.  When he finally composed himself enough to tell me what was wrong, he asked if Wes would ever be coming around because he was going to miss him so much.  Wes came over and held his little brother while he cried and assured him he would still be around and very much a part of his life.  When Wes walked away, Eli says to me, “I’ll be honest with you, Mom.  I want a wife!  I’m seriously jealous of Wes.” 🙂  That kid never ceases to crack me up!

Image

NEWS FLASH….Tic Tac has found a new home.  We’re certainly going to miss that puppy, but my brother’s little girl, Gracie Lou, fell in love and there was no leaving Burlington without him.  Tic Tac will live in Virginia Beach with Rob, Peg, Gracie Lou, and their dog “Noche”.

I will admit that my guys were none too happy about Tic Tac leaving.  I overheard Eli telling Gracie Lou, “He’s a puppy and you know puppies chew up everything.  He’ll probably chew all of your Barbies heads off.”  There were tears from Eli AND Steve, but they both feel good that Tic Tac will have a good home.  Eli decided that he could get over the pain of losing the puppy better if we got him the Lego book he’s wanted.  Oh, Eli….

 Image

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

4 responses »

  1. So adorable and your blog, there are no words other than the whole ceremony was so anointed by Christ presence. Love you. Mom

  2. Robin,
    I have to agree with you! There is nothing more beautiful than to see one man and one woman leave their parents to become one in the sight of God. Wes and Kendal are precious and God has wonderful plans for them! It was the perfect ceremony! We love you all!

  3. Eagerly looking forward to the next installments! I have seen a few pictures that Dustin posted on FB, and it does look like a beautiful ceremony, made even more beautiful by the presence of Christ. I’m also happy that the puppy has found a good new home. Sounds like he’ll be a beach bum! 🙂 I’m sure there are many happy years in store for everyone involved in the weekend’s activities!

Leave a Reply

