“…the plans that Heaven has for you will all too soon unfold…”

Standard

I’m thankful for all of the kind remarks our family has received regarding Wes & Kendal’s wedding!  It was such a special and blessed event for our family!

Yesterday, I shared the emotional moment when our groom saw his bride, adorned in white, saved solely for him; and the overwhelming emotion the bride felt when she saw her groom waiting to claim her as his own forever.

No matter how many weddings I’ve sung in (literally hundreds), I have to say that the first eye contact the groom has with the bride is always my favorite.  I’ve been hired as “the wedding singer” so many times, not really knowing anyone in the wedding party; but regardless of whether I know their “story” or not, as soon as the bride turns the corner and her groom catches sight of her, tears well up in my eyes.  It’s a very special moment.

Saturday, Kendal’s father, Joe, led her down the center aisle that had been untouched, saved only for the bride, to her awaiting and adoring husband-to-be.  As much as Wes loves and respects his new father-in-law, I could tell…he just wanted him to hand her over to him!

The pastor, Paul Waters (amazing minster and precious friend of our family), asked, “who gives this bride…” and Joe graciously placed Kendal’s hand in Wesley’s.  I could read their faces…”this is really happening!”

What happened next was a moment I had been both dreading and anticipating since they were engaged in October.  You see, Wes & Kendal had asked if I would sing in their wedding.  The singer in me wanted to say, “Yeah!” but the mom in me was thinking, “How in the world will I get through that?”  It meant so much that they would ask me to sing and I was honored to say, “Yes.  I’d be happy to sing.”

The song was selected and I began to practice…sort of…well, not really.  Here’s the thing; I couldn’t get past the first line of the song!  “It’s only for a moment you are mine to hold…” and as if on cue, TEARS WERE POURING.  How would I get through this?  I don’t mind an emotional song, but I contend with two things:  first, I cannot sing when I’m crying and second, I’m an UGLY crier.  For real!  My face scrunches up and it’s completely outside the realm of my control to straighten it.  The harder I try the worse it gets.

I have learned through hard experiences that what works best for me is to just get in my car, pop in the soundtrack,  and sing and cry and sing and cry until I can sing without crying.  It’s what I’ve had to do when singing for all of my grandparents’ funerals, it’s what I had to do to sing for my father’s funeral, and it’s what I did to prepare for the wedding.

Thank the Lord, it worked.  

I only felt a lump come into my throat when Wes & Kendal turned to look at me.  So, I closed my eyes. 🙂  Tears averted.

“It’s only for a moment you are mine to hold; the plans that heaven has for you will all too soon unfold.

So many different prayers I’ll pray for all that you might do;

but most of all I want to know you’re walking in the truth.

And if I never told you, I want you to know, that as I’ve watched you grow…

I pray that God will fill your heart with dreams

And that faith gives you the courage to dare to do great things

I’m here for you whatever this life brings

So let my love give you roots, and help you find your wings.”

That’s the first verse and chorus to Mark Harris’ beautiful song, “Find Your Wings”.  And that’s the song I was honored to sing for Wes & Kendal’s wedding.  I’m thankful that I could sing the words of this song knowing that Wes is endeavoring every day to walk in the Truth – Jesus Christ.

It’s true you know…it’s only for a moment those little ones are ours to hold.  Cherish those moments, Moms.  They don’t stay small for long…but at least Wes stayed “toe-headed”. 🙂

Funny for the day…remember I wrote yesterday that Eli was quite emotional over Wes getting married.  When asked if he would cry at Caleb’s wedding, he said, “Yeah, but not for Caleb; for the poor girl he’s marrying.”  Feel the love, huh?

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

6 responses »

  1. Beautifully said, Robin. As the mother of two sons, I know how much it means to have your son find the person who will cherish, love, honor, and support him throughout their lifetime together. . . . and the two shall become one–forever.

  2. Robin, this is beautiful! Now you got me crying! Such a sweet family and so very commited to serving the Lord I am so happy for all of you! God Bless and have a great day!

  3. Ok I just cried reading this but I smiled Big When I saw that sweet picture at the end for that was the age I first met Sweet Wesley and held him in my lap day after day at Andrew’s Memorial Daycare. May God Bless him in his new adventure!

  4. Tears welled up in my eyes as I remember praying for you as you sang that beautiful song. I have had different ones ask how you were able to do it and I said, it was with God’s help, just as He helped her in the funerals she sang in for family members especially her dad. God is good, so proud of you and your family, as I am proud of all my children and grands. Love you, Mom

  5. I’m sure that your song was beautiful, made even more so because of the love you have for your son and your new daughter. Poor Eli….he does have a hard life, doesn’t he!?!? I’ll bet there have been times when you have actually prayed for just one dull moment! Congratulations on being such a special mother to your boys. 🙂

Leave a Reply

