“May there be many moments that make your life so sweet…”

Standard

I feel like it’s been FOREVER since I’ve had the chance to blog!  Thankful for a birthday weekend at the beach with my family (which has provided much more fun to write about in the future) and thankful to be back to internet that actually stays continuous. 🙂  I have been overwhelmed by the birthday love – thanks everyone!!

I wanted to finish up what I had started last week regarding Wes & Kendal’s wedding.  I promise this will be the last of the wedding blogs, but I felt like I left things hanging since the last post.

Our first wedding.  What a blessed and beautiful day for us!  Not because of fancy decorations, an exclusive setting, or an elaborate reception, but because we knew the two who were getting married and what this day truly meant to them.  From the moment Wes proposed in October 2011, they have been literally counting down the days until they would be married.

Believe me, over the past 7 months,  much more than preparing for the actual event, they have been preparing themselves for the forever commitment they would make to each other.

I’d like to share Wes’s wedding vows that he wrote to Kendal:

Kendal,

As we stand here before God and this crowd of people, I want to make it known that I recognize God’s authority over my life. He has blessed and entrusted me with one of His greatest creations, you. A few years ago, you were just a dream and a prayer to me, and today my dream comes true; the Lord has answered my prayers. Not only do I vow to be your husband, I will be your best friend as well. I thank Jesus for the honor of going through life together with you. I know that times won’t always be easy and sometimes we will face struggles, but through all of the pressures of the present and the uncertainties of the future, I promise to be faithful to you as long as He gives us life together, regardless of the circumstances. I promise to love you unconditionally, and to guide and protect you as Christ does His church. In the book of John, chapter 15, verse 13 it says “Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends.” Today, I lay down my life for and to you, Kendal; you’re the love of my life and my best friend and I am forever yours.

I have no doubt that God will bless and anoint their lives because they place themselves second only to their Lord and Savior.  I don’t have Kendal’s vows word for word, but they were just as heartfelt and just as precious.  I do have a picture, though, that will make you smile:

She pinned her vows on some of Eli’s Spongebob paper…she wanted to “make Wes smile”.  Does she fit with us or what?

I have no doubt that Wes & Kendal’s union is one that made Heaven rejoice!  They stood before Rev. Paul Waters as they vowed to love and cherish each other forever; but a larger Presence was welcome and blessing them…God Almighty.  It’s why they were so emotional during the prayer…overwhelmed at God’s goodness to them.

What a celebration of one of life’s greatest gifts: true love blessed by the Lord.  Will there be hard times ahead?  Of course.  As Christians we’re walking a narrow road home and we will experience hardships along the way; but God has promised to walk every step with us….He’ll even carry us when we need Him to.  And this promise is good all the way home.  Now there’s a reason to celebrate.

Okay,  so I mentioned that this past weekend I celebrated another birthday (Sunday, 5/27) and it was perfect.  The weather at the beach was so nice with just enough rain for a respite from the sun.  LOTS of reading accomplished!  We camped at Myrtle Beach Travel Park with the lake behind us and the beach in front of us.  On the afternoon of my birthday, I was sitting in the swing that Steve had hung from a huge tree behind the camper, watching as our boys along with other travelers took part in a fishing tourney around the lake.  I glanced behind me and who do I see?  Wes & Kendal!  Their cruise ship docked in VA Beach on Sunday morning and they drove straight from their honeymoon to Myrtle Beach to surprise me. (6 1/2 hours…)!  I had all of my babies with me on my birthday!  It was the best present ever.

I’ve got lots of stories to share this week about the beach trip that are sure to make you laugh.

Oh, the Riggins life.

Update on “Rocky”, a.k.a. Tick-Tac…he’s up to 10 lbs. now and doing great!  Loving VA Beach and his new home!

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

4 responses »

  1. Wes and Kendal have the very BEST foundation for a successful marriage! Not just a true friendship with each other, but the blessing of the Lord on their relationship and their life together. Yes, they will face obstacles, but I’m sure they will remember to take all their concerns to their Savior, who will carry them through every time.

    What a blessing for you to have all of your children together for your special day! You will never forget this birthday. Since we’re not friends, I did not know that it was your birthday, so I’ll send you a belated birthday wish now, and I’m happy to know that it was such a great time for you! 🙂

  2. I must say this is the best yet, even though I was there this brings back so vividly the special day.

Leave a Reply

