Holy hockey, Batman…

Standard

Well, I promised you some funny stuff from our beach trip and this will not disappoint; however, I must warn you…if you’re given to having a weak stomach, skip it.  While this is hilarious, I have to admit, I’m doing a lot of “editing” to make it appropriate for my blog.  But hey, it’s part of living the Riggins life.

This past Memorial Day weekend, we pulled our camper to Myrtle Beach Travel Park for some true rest and relaxation.  It was awesome.  This has become one of our favorite places to vacation.  Now, had someone told me 3 years ago that I would love camping, I would have laughed at them.  But understand, we do NOT sleep in tents.  We are not without electricity, queen size beds, television, bathrooms….it’s a camping style I can adopt.

There were good friends, good food, and lots of laughs which all equal a wonderful vacation.

View in front of our camper…ocean at the end of the road          

 View behind our camper – 8 acre lake behind our camper   

We especially enjoy this travel park because it’s extremely clean and family friendly. The bath houses are in abundance and every one of them has been completely renovated.  This is important to know because we do have a very important Riggins rule regarding our camper…NO #2’s allowed in the camper bathroom (except for extreme emergencies).  It’s not that our bathroom can’t accommodate it, it’s just, well…you’d have to live with my guys to understand.  Sorry to need to share this but it does set up the following story.

Here’s your last warning if you feel you can’t read on…

We camped last Thursday night through Memorial Day Monday.  After the previous weekend of wedding celebration, we needed some down time.  Monday morning, we packed up and headed home.  After a nice, easy trip home, it was time to all pitch in and clean up the travel toys.

We got both the camper and the truck washed and it was time for me to move to the inside of the camper to clean.  “Honey, is it okay if I go ahead and clean the bathroom?  There’s some water in the commode…”  Steve – “Yes, but just to be safe, let me open the valve to the black water.”

Quick camping lesson:  Black water is the bad stuff…ewww…and needs to always be emptied well before one leaves the camp site.  VERY WELL.

The next thing I hear is, “Oh my…*gag*…no way…*gag*…Wes!  Get me the hose quick!”  Wes runs with the hose to his dad’s side and I hear a series of *gags* from both of them.  What in the world?  I curiously stick my head out the door to see what’s going on and it (the smell) hit me…*GAAAAAG* (I wish I could accurately make these sound effects.  You know, it’s funny when it’s not happening to you…)

Me – “Um, babe, I thought you emptied the black water at the camp site.”

Steve – “I DID!  But I guess this was lodged in the tube. (*gag*)  Who broke the #2 rule??!!”

I gingerly proceed to tell him that one of our younger sons (est) had an “emergency” and couldn’t make it to the bath house.  To save him embarrassment (yet here I am writing about him in a blog), I didn’t mention it to his dad because I knew Steve would empty the black water, right?

Steve & Wes shoveled and scrubbed and scraped and scrubbed and scraped and scrubbed and scraped…finally clean.

Me – “Well, give me the hose so I can clean where I’ve scrubbed the toilet and so I can rinse it out.”  I proceed to do so thinking maybe I should just let it run down the opening to make sure it truly was completely cleaned out.

Steve – “OH MY GOSH!  Where’s it all coming from??  WES!!…”  Clearly there are rule breakers in the Riggins’ home.

Okay, I told you this would be GROSS before I started and yes, it is; sorry.  But once the air cleared (which took awhile) we laughed our heads off at each other (much later) that evening.  Eli, after accessing all that had happened decided that  there should be an alarm on the toilet in case anyone tries to break the #2 rule.

Everyone just kind of looked at him…Eli – “What?” 🙂

I really have nothing spiritual to add to this as I like to do most days.  But I’m pretty sure we had the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit all laughing with us.  Good times….

    

(Caleb can’t be to close to us in public…not at 15…too cool.  Thus no photo of the middle)

Again, sorry if this post was too much, but everyone in my family felt like I HAD to share it.  Welcome to my world.

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

5 responses »

  1. HAHAHAHAHA!!! Thank you for sharing the “dirty side” of your family! Although we do not go camping, our son and his wife and three boys do, and I’m sure they could share some really good stories with you! As for Caleb, there will come a day when he’ll be proud to be a part of the family again….just pray you live that long! Have a great day down there! 🙂

  2. This has to be the funniest ever! Thanks so much for the laugh! Whew wee! I can just imagine the smell… now remember I said imagine but I don’t think I actually want to experience the smell!

Leave a Reply

