“Behold, the Turtle Man Cometh! Ye-ye-ye-ye!

Standard

This past weekend was absolutely GORGEOUS!  No humidity, mild temperatures, blue skies and…it was the weekend…duh!  It was an absolutely perfect weekend…unless you’re a certain turtle.  I say that because a local neighbor turtle lost his life Friday night, at the hands of our middle son.

Now before you animal lovers start sending me hate replies, you need to understand that the turtle I’m referring to had become a murdering menace.  He was guilty of killing several baby ducks in a local pond and the pond owner had put a price on his head.  “Kill that sucker and we’ll make turtle soup.”  It’s all Caleb needed to hear.

We were commissioned to buy chicken livers and red hot sausages for cat fishing and turtle hunting.  Oh, it was on.  Caleb and his buddy, Marcus, tried all Friday afternoon to hook the turtle and finally, the call came in.  “DAD!  Get down here quick!  I’ve got this turtle on my line!”  Problem was, genius snagged him with his fishing rod that had 8 pound line.  This turtle was at least 50 pounds!  He had taken Caleb’s bait and hook and was about 10 feet out in the pond, just sitting there.

I don’t know if you’ve ever encountered a snapping turtle, but they can put a hurtin’ on someone when they bite.  And this was a HUGE TURTLE.  He could most likely take a hand off if one got too close.  Understanding this dilemma, the owner of the pond decided that the only recourse was to shoot the turtle.  Sad, I know.  Our dear friend Todd Allen came out with his pistol and did the duty of shooting the turtle.

*BANG!*…air bubbles….sinking, sinking…hold on…Caleb has this thing on his 8  pound line and it’s…sinking.  What?  NO TROPHY???

Caleb frantically turns to Steve.  “DAD!  You have go bring me a bigger hook or a net or SOMETHING! I’ve got to get this turtle out of the pond!!!”  Steve, being the ingenious man that he is, takes the end of a metal garden rake, ties a rope around the end and voila!  Turtle hook 🙂 (Is there even any such thing as a turtle hook?  I mean, Turtle Man uses his hands…).

Caleb cast it about 20 times and it was not working.  About to give up, he threw it one more time and I want you to know, that turtle came up spitting and fighting!  Guess what?  Turtle not dead…AND not letting go of the line…AND coming for the shore!

I wish I had a video of Caleb and his buddy scrambling around like cartoon characters.  They were excited with the notion of getting the turtle but too scared to get close to it.  It was HILARIOUS!  They turned into 8 year old girls until finally Hop-a-long Todd shot the turtle again, this time truly doing the deed.

“Gingerly” (as in pick up, drop, pick up, drop…) Marcus & Caleb got the turtle up on the bank and began doing the victory dance.

  

“Hurry up! This thing is heavy!”      

Thus the end of the turtle.  But guess what?  There’s an even bigger one in the pond.  Better get heavier pound line…and a “turtle hook”.   Or call Turtle Man (“Ye ye ye ye!).  Oh, and you can forget about the turtle soup.  Eww.

*                                                               *                                                             *                                                          *

You know they say everyone has a twin in this world.  Over this past weekend, a wonderful friend of mine, Melinda Waddell, sent me a picture from an ad she saw while traveling in Branson, MO.  I’ll let you judge whether it looks like me or not:

Kind of freaky.  I don’t remember anyone taking a picture of me while I was zip lining in the Congas…It’s why the hair must always be in place.  Lol!

When Wes saw this picture, he said, “It doesn’t really look like you.  Her hand is too big.”  And so is her chest…and her waist is way too small.  Lucky twin….

Sadly I may not have the chance to blog much this week.  Our office will be on retreat for the next three days and I won’t have the opportunity to use the computer, but never fear!  I’LL BE BACK!

Enjoy your week and God bless every one of you!  Don’t forget to thank Him today for His goodness because…

GOD IS GOOD!  ALL THE TIME!  

Even when we’re not, GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME!

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

4 responses »

  1. WHAT??? No turtle soup??!? Then, I have to ask what did happen with that huge monster! Anyway, I’m happy he is not going to harm any more baby ducks or other less fortunate water creatures; I just hate to think about chicken livers being used this way! 🙂 Have a good week, and we’ll be here when you return!

  2. Yes He is Robin all the time Hallelujah! I loved your blog it is really funny! I wish I could have seen the capture of a turtle that was not dead after all! It gives me the chills thinking that thing could take a chunk out your flesh very quickly! Have a good night and God Bless!

Leave a Reply

