School is OUT!

Standard

We made it through another academic year in the Riggins’ house!  Woo hoo!!!  That’s major cause to celebrate!  Eli is now a 7th grader and ended his year on the A-B honor roll!  Caleb…made it to 10th grade. <Whew>

Being a boy Mom….has it’s challenges.

Now, being the mother of boys has it’s definite advantages:

1) A clean t-shirt and jeans  makes for dress clothes (I’m pretty sure they would be content to wear this to the prom if moms and dates would let them)

2) A little water (or spit) to the hair to lay it down and they’re good to go

3)  If there’s no bathroom when they need one, no worries; the outdoors is their outhouse (the same goes for Kleenex, but that’s just gross)

These are just a few of the many advantages that make life a little easier with boys.  But there can also frustrations that come with having these laid back creatures.  One of these frustrations I have with my boys...academics.

My very wise sister-in-law, Kimberly Allman, told me when Wesley was in elementary school that everything would be fine…UNTIL 7TH GRADE.  I remember thinking, “I’m sure there will be some changes, but Wes is pretty solid.  I don’t think I’ll have to deal with too much.”

DUN DUN DUN

Boy, did I eat my words.  Seventh grade came and Wes put his brain on a shelf.  And he left it there until 10th grade.  Wes was more concerned with being “the man”; more interested in focusing on girls than grades.  And he was a talker (I can’t imagine where he got that trait?).  I got way too many notes from teachers saying that Wes was “too social” in class (he wouldn’t shut-up).

Eighth grade was pretty much the same fun times and in 9th grade, we, as parents, became even more lame and he, “the man”, became even more of an island way out in the ocean somewhere.

I very clearly remember saying to Wes, “PLEASE, PLEASE just make it to 10th grade.”  This was a very serious plea…

Fast Forward 8 years and deja vu…I found myself saying those exact same words to Caleb.  “PLEASE, PLEASE just make it to 10th grade!”

Thank the Lord (and generous teachers), he did.

I’m finding that during the high school years that the only time my boys wants  Mom in the know regarding what’s happening at school is the night before a paper or project is due.  Wes started this tradition.  He was notorious for sheepishly coming to me the NIGHT BEFORE an assignment was due to ask for my help.  Knowing that I would want him to make a good grade,  he was willing to endure all the screaming about waiting until the last minute to ask me for help.  After the dust settled, he would proceed to let me make an A on whatever he was handing in the next day.

(Yes,  I am guilty of “overly helping” my boys on projects and papers.  As badly as I want them to learn a lesson by making a bad grade due to their lack of responsibility, I just can’t do it.  Flaw #859).

Caleb is a carbon copy of his older brother in this respect.  But there’s always hope…

One summer day before Wes started 10th grade, he came to me and out of the blue said, “You know Mom, I think I can make all A’s and B’s the rest of high school.”  Of course, I said, “I know you can.  I think you can make all A’s if you decide to.”  Wes’s reply:  “Don’t push it.”   And he was as good as his word.  From that point on he made all A’s and B’s.

This causes me to wake up every morning during the summer with the anticipation that Caleb will have the same epiphany.

So far it’s been, “Mom…I’m goin’ fishin’.”  *Sigh* 🙂

But the boy can fish…

I’ll share some “vintage” photos I found from Wes’s high school graduation so you can see how much our boys have grown in the past 5 years…

   

                         I know the day’s coming all too soon when Caleb will wear his own tassel.

AND…

Here’s proof that all of the pushing, prodding, and sometimes letting go really works:

Wes sent me a picture of his GPA at UNC-Charlotte.  4.0, baby!

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

2 responses »

  1. Oh, Robin! I can SO relate! The only thing is that my son was one of those rare self-motivated individuals who ALWAYS wanted to make 100 on every test and A on every paper he turned in, and he usually was successful. Our problems came after his high school graduation, when he was awarded a scholarship to the local community college and could take a full course load with NO charge; even his books were paid for because of his good grades. Well, he also had a part-time job, and he would not get up on time for his early classes. He finally dropped out for one semester, then was able to get the same scholarship the next semester. Had he grown enough to do it? NO!!! Same song, second verse. The school was very forgiving, and he had another opportunity, with the same result. By this time, I was through wasting my voice, and just turned him over to God. There were other moral issues going on with him at the same time, and God just had to work those out with him. I don’t know whether you read the story in Chris’ blog or not, but that was my son. He finally came to us and announced that he wanted to go to (drumroll, please) Bob Jones University! Well, by this time, he had wasted most of the educational fund his grandparents had set up for him, but he had enough for one year at BJU. He went, made a 4.0, and met the young woman who is now his wife of 16 years and the mother of our three grandsons! God had it all planned all along, and we are now reaping the benefits of His wise intervention! Your boys will be fine, because they have the Foundation that will give them a strong building. Hang in there, Mom! The ride might not always be fun, but it’s always exciting!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

