How to have fun with a bucket and a pillow.

Standard

The Riggins’ Life….it IS a lot of fun.  Sometimes I’m sure people looking in from the outside think we’re pretty much off of our rockers (and the fact that I blog about our insanity pretty much every day), but that’s okay; we’re happy the way we are.  I especially love to capture our craziness on film.  Those that follow my Facebook know that I’m “mildly” (hugely) obsessed with Instagram (an app for taking pictures on my IPhone).  So much so that Wesley made me PROMISE not to hold my phone during his wedding ceremony because of the temptation to take pictures!

My new daughter-in-law Kendal just happens to have the same addiction to pictures that I do.  I frequently get texts with pictures like this one from Kendal:

This was from Wes & Kendal on their honeymoon…

She likes to be sure I’m keeping up with what’s going on in their lives.   So, I also get pictures sent to me like these:

      

Dinner…………………………….Desert……………………………And, I can’t believe I ate the whole thing…

These newlyweds have discovered pther “inexpensive” (cheap) means of entertainment besides taking pictures of each other, too.  Did you know that for $15.00 a month, you can get unlimited rentals from Blockbuster?  I think they got their money’s worth the first week.

But we get tired of watching TV sometimes and just need some “hands on” entertainment.  With three boys, we have to monitor “hands on” because that usually means something is going to get broken (like a limb or worse; my new couch).  Last night was one of those hands on nights and it started with a bucket and a pillow.

I’m not sure where this bucket came from but it appeared in our living room and was quickly slammed onto Caleb’s head by Eli.  Shockingly, rather than retaliating with force, Caleb decided to have fun with the bucket and a certain favorite pillow.

And I have photos to share…

Sir Caleb of Riggins

I just kind of imagine a British accent coming from him in this one…

Lol…remember the dog truck in Dumb & Dumber?  Nice ears, babe…

I so enjoy writing about the daily shenanigans that take place in the Riggins’ household.  We are some crazy people for sure.  I like to think that the reason we can laugh at each other, cry with each other, forgive each other,  encourage and LOVE each other is because of the “grace” that buffers our lives.   Certainly the siblings in the house could more regularly extend grace to each other, but when it counts, even the bickering brothers come together and encourage and lift each other up.  Quite a vision, I must say.

So remember…

1)  Extend grace always

2)  $15/month will get you unlimited rentals at Blockbuster

3)  You don’t need a lot of money to have a good time; just a bucket and a favorite pillow. 🙂

    

“What say you?”                                           I’m not really sure what.        That kid is gifted.

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

3 responses »

  1. I love reading about your family’s shenanigans! Those boys are learning many wonderful lessons in family living that will come in handy when they have families of their own. Looks like Wes and Kendal have some pretty good taste in ice cream, too! Now I’m hungry, and it’s too early for supper… 🙂 Keep these articles coming, please! Makes us all seem so normal!

  2. Hey I think it’s great you all have fun together just clowning around! It sure beats fussing and fighting! Very funny blog thanks!

Leave a Reply

