Getting old is not for the weak of heart…

Standard

Isn’t it strange how one minute you’re the youngest of any group you’re with and then suddenly one day you’re the oldest?  Seriously, “the oldies” or “classic rock”  now refers to songs that were  made popular for the first time when I was in high school.  Ouch.  I see what people refer to as vintage clothing remembering wearing the same outfit when it was new.  It’s amazing how life can sneak up on you…

We’ve all been told when we were young to enjoy life because it does go by so quickly.  James 4:14 in the Bible says, “For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away.”

So true.  Sometimes we don’t realize just how true this is until we’re looking back;

– Looking back on how quickly our children have grown up

– Looking back with only memories of someone you’ve lost

– Looking back on a past that can never be changed, wishing you had made better decisions

– Looking back with joy realizing how blessed your life has been and wishing you had been more thankful

Every one of these apply to me.  And I don’t want to live my life always looking back.

I’m 46 years old; not ancient, but on the “other side” of my 40’s.   My kids are spread out so that they span nearly three different generations; Wesley will be 23 next month, Caleb is 15 1/2 and Eli will be 12 in about 3 weeks.  To some degree, this spread in their ages has kept me young.  At one point I was going from an elementary open house to a varsity high school football game in one week to cover my boys.  Now we’ve shifted to having our sons in middle school, high school, and the last year of college.  Where did the time go?

Time creeps up for sure.  There are so many things I planned to do in my younger days, thinking I had an infinite amount of time to accomplish everything I want to do.  Now, the realization is that my future on this earth is not infinite and  instead of thinking of the things I’ll accomplish with my future, I’ve shifted to planning for sustaining what’s left of it.  My how things change…

And then there’s vanity.

Yep, I do consider myself somewhat vain.  Not to the point that I think  every song is about me, but vain enough to provide myself with a good hour to get ready just in case I have trouble deciding what to wear or how to fix my hair.   And I’ve always been a little freaky about wrinkles so fortunately, from a younger age, I learned not to get a lot of sun on my face, use a good make-up, and moisturize, moisturize, moisturize.

Here’s a HUGE rule of thumb for me (if anybody cares)…I NEVER sleep in make-up!  This no-no was embedded in my mind from the time I was 13 years old.  I spent the night with a friend and we were playing with make-up.  Her mom walked in and said, “Be sure to wash that off your face before you go to bed.  Did you know every night you sleep in make-up it adds 5 days age to your face?”  For some reason, that remark burned into my mind like I had been branded and I determined from that very day NEVER to sleep in make-up.  And I have not.  No matter how late I get in, I’m going to wash my face.

Sadly, now I’m starting to look at cleansers and moisturizers for “mature skin”.  I hate that term.

With getting older and having a son recently married, there’s now the thought of grandchildren eventually entering the picture.  It’s exciting – I mean, I love babies!  But the only babies that have been part of our family have been my own!  This is a territory that really puts things into perspective.  Wes & Kendal have assured me it will be at least 5 years before they start trying to make me a grandmother and that’s fine with me.  It will take me that long to decide what I want to be called.  “Ra-Ra” feels good…;)

I’ll be honest, as much as I love to blog, some days I’m not sure what direction to go in with my writing.  Today, I sat here for awhile praying for a topic.  In the midst of my thoughts, I took Ibuprofen for a headache and aching shoulders, realized that I have a hair appointment to cover my gray, and noted to check with the dentist for a tooth that has to be PULLED (back molar, thank God) and eventually replaced with an implant.  Thus this blog.

Getting older is absolutely not for the faint of heart, but I do realize how blessed my life is and I want to spend this day and every day thankful to the Lord.

God has given me an amazing husband with whom to share this journey…

…a precious family that brings tremendous joy to my life

…a godly mother whose example influences my life every single day

and countless other blessings no blog could contain (Rob & Chris, that includes you and your families…:)).

But the greatest of these is what awaits me when my future on earth comes to an end…eternal life because of my sweet, loving Savior, Jesus Christ, whose blood has redeemed and saved me.

 Now that makes growing older not only worth it, but something to look forward to.

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

2 responses »

  1. Oh, Robin! You are beautiful, and like your mother, that will only improve with age! I have always been heavy, and that fat in my face is keeping the wrinkles away by filling in all those spaces! 🙂 While external beauty has never been one of my strengths, the lack of it has encouraged me to look elsewhere for my attraction, and I hope I have been a source of help to others.

    I was 30 before our first child came along, and that son was followed closely (13 1/2 months) by his baby sister, so I had little time to be concerned with makeup or anything else besides staying in God’s Word and taking care of my hubby and kiddos, plus a part-time job that turned full-time within a couple of years. Fortunately, since I had never really been “into” all that goes with becoming or staying “beautiful,” that was not a problem as the years moved along. My gray hair started when I was only 13, so I have learned to live peacefully with it as well. The only time I have tried to cover it was when, at the age of 57, I found myself looking for a new job, and I still don’t know whether that more youthful appearance helped me to land the job I found.

    When I was 55, I had a TIA (light stroke), which did not do any permanent damage (thanks be to God!), but it caused me to take a look at my life and where I was going careerwise. I realized that I needed to upgrade my computer skills, and also knew I didn’t want to stay in the job I had at that time, so I went back to business college!! I made the Dean’s list every quarter and graduated after my year-long program with a 4.0! You see, I had to perform at my best because my grown children were watching and I had always encouraged them to do their best, so I had to live up to my own expectations! Anyway, and this is turning out longer than I intended, you are never too old to tackle anything as long as God is in the middle of it, and you will be a super grandmother when the time comes! 🙂 My grandchildren are 1500 miles away, so I don’t get to see them often, but I hope they know that we love them very much.

    Oh–as for that cleansing routine–my mother passed away at the age of 74 with nary a wrinkle except for a few smile lines around her mouth. Her secret? Noxzema on the face, rinsed with cool water and patted dry gently. If you have time, somewhere in my FB photos, there are pictures of her at my wedding, and you can see that she is a lovely lady. Keep in mind that those pictures are from January, 1969!!

    Yes, we can all look forward with that blessed hope to the glorious time when we will see our Savior face-to-face! None of this will matter then! 🙂

  2. I wish you would have told me the whole “don’t sleep in your makeup” secret! I’ll be washing my face before bed from now on. Seriously… Time is flying. I suppose growing old beats the alternative 🙂

Leave a Reply

