You are very wise, Grasshopper….

Standard

My whole life I have been surrounded by boys.  I grew up with two brothers and zero sisters.  I have been one woman in a house of four men for the past 17 years.  Now, sometimes this is a definite advantage; no one tries to borrow my clothes, I don’t have to spend much time fixing anyone’s hair besides my own, I am treated with a certain amount of “specialty” because I’m a girl…I like those things.

But then, there are times I shake my head or find myself wanting to scream (or worse) because there are certain things these guys just don’t get.  What a GIFT God has given me when Wes married Kendal!  But alas, they live in Charlotte and my time spent with her is not nearly enough.

Image

Me & my new “daughter”

Ladies, you’ll understand when I say the guys don’t “get it”. And “it” could be any number of things:

– Spending the entire day shopping while not necessarily buying anything

– Considering a day spent on the beach reading a good book a true vacation

– Changing clothes 10 times in a morning to find the right outfit

– Not wanting to get our hair wet in the swimming pool because…well, just because

Feeling like you could literally take someone OUT OF THIS WORLD because you’re having a “hormonal day” (there is no explanation as to why we feel this way and I would warn you not to ask for one.  We don’t want to be ill, intense, or viewed as MEAN, it just happens.  And, at the time, it feels good so stay out of our way and let us be…for your own good)

Yesterday was one of those “hormonal days” for me.  Granted, it didn’t hit me until late afternoon because yesterday morning, I was HAPPY IN THE LORD!  I was feeling fine, full of life, ready to tackle the world and then…by the afternoon, I was feeling down, burdened, irritated in general.  And I couldn’t really even explain why to myself, much less to anyone else.

Guys, if you’re reading this, I know this sounds crazy, but please know, we ladies hardly understand what’s going on ourselves.  Hormones just happen.  I mean, we feel it coming, we see the transformation, but we really can’t do anything about it.  Sorry…

Let me tell you what a wise creature Steve Riggins is….

Steve has learned to read the signs. When hormones happen for me, he attends to me with kid gloves and does his best to keep the boys from getting in my way.  He comes to me out of the blue and rubs my shoulders or my feet (yea-yuh) and gives me tender kisses.  He offers to get the boys off to bed while I lay in the recliner.  He offers me a blanket or the ceiling fan…whichever I need at the moment.  He gives me the remote control and tells me to watch anything I want to because whatever I want to watch is what he wants to watch.

That’s a wise man.  And I thank God for him every single day.  You see, each action of love and unconditional loyalty to me calm and ease me until the beast is gone.  <Whew>

I feel better today thanks to the Lord and my precious husband.  And as wise as Steve is, just to be completely “safe”, this is what he says to me this morning:

“Hey babe, I put a $20.00 by your pocketbook today so if you want to go by Ross and pick up that dress you liked, you can do that at lunch.”

Oh yes, he is wise indeed….

Image

Steve Riggins…beast slayer.

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

6 responses »

  1. You are very blessed! Now, go get that dress! Things like that make even Rocco more bearable, I’ll bet….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

