Why me, Lord??

Standard

This morning, I woke up at 5:00am unable to go back to sleep and actually feeling pretty spry for it to be so early.  So I took the opportunity to hit my knees and spend some time in God’s word.  And boy was it good.  I try to read from the Old Testament and the New Testament along with one of the Psalms each day.  Today, my NT passage was in Romans 8.  For a Christian, it’s one of the most freeing passages found in the Bible…

Romans 8:1 “There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit.”

NO condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus!  I know me and there have been plenty of things in my life for which I could and should be condemned; but because of Jesus Christ and the redemption He brought to my life, there is NO CONDEMNATION.  And no means no in every language.  That’s gooooood stuff.

*                                                                      *                                                                  *                                                                             *

You know the devil hates it when we’re basking in the joy of the Lord, right?

I stepped outside to leave for work only to find my not so favorite dog, Rocco, had chewed up the top to our cooler.  Oh my word…I wanted to FLAIL him with it!  And I could tell he was the guilty one because of the way he cowered and ran as soon as I went to retrieve the lid.

Some days (most days), I hate that dog.

I had neither the time nor the desire to chase after the beast because I had to leave for work.  But, knowing one of his favorite things to do is try to outrun our cars as we’re leaving the driveway, I veered as hard as I could to try to hit him and put him out of my misery, but dang, that dog is fast (no I wasn’t really going to hit him…unless he ran under my tires.  Then it would be completely his fault).

I grabbed my phone…I just had to text Steve and tell him what HIS dog had done.

Okay, before you can appreciate what reaction I was looking for from Steve, you need to understand that he loves coolers almost as much as I love shoes.  Seriously.  He is a freak about coolers.  Not that he has as many coolers as I have shoes, but the ones he has are precious to him.  And the one Rocco tried to destroy was the newer one (Oh ho ho….you are so busted, Rocco).

I’m sure I typed in all caps because you know, that’s how you SCREAM in a text.  And Steve replied quickly, “He’s just bored.”

Shut the front door….are you for real right now???  How can you have such mercy on this no good animal who does NOTHING but mess up????

ROMANS 8:1.

OUCH.  God’s word IS sharper than a double edged sword.

While I’m not saying Rocco is redeemed by the blood of the Lamb (please don’t tell me I’ve got to spend eternity with that dog…), I am saying that Steve reacted like Jesus.  Christ doesn’t dismiss my sins and mess ups with the excuse “she’s bored”, but neither does He condemn me beyond His sweet forgiveness.

Why does the Lord use these dogs to teach me lessons?

The cooler lid was gnawed up all around the sides, but it could still be used.  So, I guess all things do work together for good to those who love God. (Romans 8:28)

🙂

Rocco (a.k.a. Legion)

Speaking of our dogs, I do have to share a funny story involving Macy.  Before we got our invisible fence AND before we got Rocco (those were the days…), Macy used to have the run of the neighborhood.  Everyone loved her and we had no reason to keep her on “contained” in the yard.

Until…

One morning our neighbor from two houses down came over and said he needed to talk to us a minute.  It seems that Macy had been coming into their house every night for the past week through their doggy door and that particular morning, they had found her sleeping on their couch!!  Lol!  It was embarrassing and funny all at the same time.  Not long after, we installed an invisible fence.

Goofy dogs…

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

6 responses »

  1. Robin, I get such joy and such a blessing from your blog. I can’t wait to open them up and get a good laugh. Keep them coming.

  2. We are most richly blessed that God does not behave toward us the same way we behave toward other beings at times! Thank you for that reminder today. 🙂

    As always, this has reminded me of a story from my childhood. (Hey-when you get as old as I am, you have LOTS of stories!) We lived near a highway, and it seemed that there were always plenty of stray dogs coming to our house. My dear, sympathetic mother would feed them “just once” and you know what happens once an animal finds a food source. We also had cats (I can’t remember how that got started), and one dear old mother cat pretty much had the run of the yard. She didn’t run all over the neighborhood, but she was always in the yard with her latest litter (nobody spayed or neutered back in those days). Well, one particular dog would wander too close to Mama Kitty, and she would jump onto that dog’s back and literally ride him out of the yard, down the road, till she was ready to jump off! That poor dog would yelp all the way, and Kitty would come home with her tail in the air, looking so pleased with herself! We could not help laughing, and we never tried to stop the cat from taking her rides. As I grew older, I became less fond of dogs and more fond of cats, but we are not allowed pets in the apartment now, so it’s all good. As a teenager, when I was feeling useless and low (that happened a lot back then), I would go for a walk into our woods in front of the house, and at least one or two kitties would go with me. As I would sit on a log, they would rub around my legs or climb into my lap, allowing me to cry as much as I needed to. We knew nothing of therapy cats or dogs at that time, but these kitties surely were therapy for me, as they loved me just because I was there. Nothing quite like the unconditional love of a pet to get a child or adolescent through those confusing years.

    Ok, I’ll hush now. Maybe I need to start my own blog about reminiscences, since I seem to have so many of those! Have a wonderful afternoon! BTW, do you have a picture of that dress?

  3. Oh that we could be more like Jesus when it comes to condemnation. So thankful that He is the God of second, third, and fourth chances, I could go on and on with the chances. He is my all in all.
    Great blog today as always.
    Mom

  4. This is a good one Robin! Hilarious and bringing back memories when our dog chewed on everything! It does make you feel like “Why did we get this dog”. Of course they look at you with those big brown eyes and you just melt and forgive just one more time!

Leave a Reply

