Ma, I gotta go…

Standard

Mondays….they are necessary to get us to the weekend, but they’re a tough start to the week.  Especially when you feel like you need a day to get over your weekend!  We have been so busy lately with these boys and their sports and this past weekend was no respite.  Caleb had a lacrosse tournament in Wilmington, NC.   I do love to go to the beach…but we didn’t see the beach.  It was one of those “leave on Friday, return on Saturday” trips.  The shining light for us?  We have amazing friends who living in Wilmington, Paul & Mary Jane Waters (Paul is pastor of Myrtle Grove Baptist Church and Mary Jane is his right arm…and left arm…), and we got to spend the night with them and hang out before the tourney.  🙂

The fun began for us before we even left Burlington.  Friday we were set to leave at 3:30, but as life happens, Steve couldn’t make it home until 5:00 so we got started 2+ hours late.  We already had plans to pick up Paul in Chapel Hill at the hospital (he was there attending to a member of his church) so we quickly stopped to get gas and snacks for the road.  As always, we were careful to use the restroom before we left our house and did a bladder check at the gas station.  Full tank, empty bladders, snacks in hand; we were good to go.

We picked up Paul and headed towards the beach.  Because I love Paul, I surrendered the front seat and moved to the middle of the boys in the back.  That’s real love…

About an hour later, my mom bladder starts yelling really LOUDLY so another stop was unavoidable.  Eli, Steve, and I took advantage of the facilities but Caleb advised that he was fine and didn’t need to go.  “Are you sure?  We don’t want to stop again.”  Caleb – “YES. I’M SURE.  Gah.”  Well okay then…

Dude…relax…geez

(In his defense, this was posed…he really wasn’t about to bite my head off.  This time…)

With about 30 minutes left to go in our drive to Wilmington, Caleb advises that he has to go to the bathroom BAD.  He’s hurting, he’s dying, he can’t hold it, blah, blah.

Me – “Caleb, we told you to go to the bathroom when we stopped before.”                                                                                                                           Caleb – “I didn’t have to go then.  But since I drank two Mountain Dews, now I have to go bad!”                                                                   Me – “Wait.  What do you mean you drank TWO MOUNTAIN DEWS?”                                                                                                                  Caleb – “Well, they were 2 for $2 so I got 2.”

Well that makes perfect sense.  It would be stupid to save one for later, right?

Steve – “Well, you’ve got to hold it. We have to be in Wilmington in 30 minutes to meet Mary Jane for dinner and there’s not really any place to stop.  Here’s a bottle.”

HOLD THE PHONE…a bottle?  Steve, you do realize I’m the one sitting beside him in this jostling truck??

Caleb takes the bottle…and I warn him STRONGLY to BE CAREFUL.  He gets up on his knees, turns towards the door, and tells us NOT to look at him (um…okay…).

What do I do?  Get out the IPhone.  It does have a great camera.

“MOM!  WHAT ARE YOU DOING??’  Hey, everything is bloggable.

“Mom…don’t you dare…”

“Caleb, just concentrate on what you’re doing.” 😉

 Haha…sorry if this is too much…

“Um…Mom…this bottle is getting full.”  AND?  I feel like I’m in a scene from Dumb & Dumber.  We scramble to find another bottle and after a bottle and a half, Caleb was finally relieved…literally.

“Here, can you hold this?”  You have GOT to be kidding me….

*                                                             *                                                                   *                                                                       *

We had such a great time in Wilmington with our amazing friends, Paul & Mary Jane.  They are such a blessing!

The Riggins and the Waters minus our photographer, Eli

As we were leaving, Paul said, “You have no idea how much I enjoyed hearing you and those boys laughing so much in the back seat on the way here.”  Me – “Well, one reason we were laughing so hard was because I have an app installed on my phone called “ISplit” that takes two faces and puts them together.  It’s hilarious.  Let us show you how it works…”

This is Caleb and Paul – Caleb top/Paul bottom

(Kind of looks like Brian Keith to me)

This is Eli and Paul 

Looks like Robin Williams!

Both boys wanted Paul’s face to be on the bottom so they could have a beard! 🙂  Haha!

The Riggins have fun for sure!

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

5 responses »

  1. Oh, dear! I am laughing!! I wonder why so many of the male gender do not think that they “need” to go, just because the urge is not there at the moment. It’s almost always possible to empty out whatever’s in there so you don’t have to worry about it so soon! Nope…you don’t have any dull moments at your house—or in your car! Hope the tournament went well, anyway!

  2. This one takes the cake, I am glad I was not the one who had to go to the bathroom, happened to me once and I almost filled a large McDonalds cup, your dad was holding his breath. We had the van, remember?

Leave a Reply

