The joys of boys…

Standard

I love my boys.  They constantly make me laugh.  Sometimes I’m laughing with them, sometimes I’m laughing at them; but as long as I’m laughing, it’s all good.

During the summer, Caleb and Eli hang out at the house while their dad and I go to work.  They are at the age that they can pretty much take care of themselves (in a caveman kind of way).  But things that should come naturally for most folks seems to slip right by them.  Example:  I have to TELL them to brush their teeth every single day (or I leave a note because they’re sleeping as I head out the door).  Still, I do not trust that they take care of this necessary task.  When I come home for lunch, I am sure to follow up with them.  And here’s the usual conversation:

“Did you brush your teeth?”

“Yes.”

“Today?”

“Ugh…Mom…gah…”  And off they go to the bathroom as I’m shaking my head and rolling my eyes.

I’ve always known that kids, boys especially, hate bath time but it is absolutely necessary – ESPECIALLY for boys.  Caleb and Eli have a theory about taking baths/showers; as long as they swim at some point during the day, there’s no need to have one because chlorine kills germs.  Why wash unnecessarily?  Caleb can come home from summer football or lacrosse practice (stinking beyond words) and still try to get out of showering.  I don’t get it!  I try to tell him that girls have an aversion to body odor…and green teeth.  I hope he’ll hear the words coming out of my mouth one day.

Now, Caleb & Eli may be home during the summer, but they are not alone.  My mother lives right next door, so they are back and forth between houses, especially when they’re hungry (or need a bath – she’s the one with the pool).  I’ll tell you that living next to my mother, a.k.a. “cook of the century”, has quite spoiled my children.  My mother always has leftovers in the fridge.  And I don’t mean leftover Hamburger Helper (which she has never made in her life); I’m talkin’ homemade chicken pie, roast with gravy, mashed potatoes, green beans, biscuits, etc.  And THIS has become my boys’ idea of a “snack”.  We’ve had to curve the “snacking” a bit…you know, “save room for lunch”!

As you can imagine, it’s a bit frustrating for me that they have become so accustomed to eating such fine food at their leisure.  Not that I can’t cook because I’m not so bad at it actually; but these guys have become so picky!  The other night we got home later due to Eli’s baseball game.  We were all tired so I decided we would have something quick and easy: leftover homemade chicken salad sandwiches. 🙂  Great summer meal, right?  Eli…not so happy.  You know what he says to me?  “But Mom, I want something savory.”  SAVORY?  What eleven year old uses the word “savory”??? 

So what do I do?  Instead of telling him to suck it up and eat the chicken salad (which, by the way, I have to make a separate batch for Eli because he doesn’t like sweet pickles…grrr…), I start looking for something “savory” to make.  Fortunately I had chicken broth in the fridge from the chicken I cooked for the chicken salad (I learned from my mother to always keep the broth for other recipes), so I cooked noodles in the broth and roasted fresh vegetables from the garden to go WITH the chicken salad.  Thank God Eli ended up with a happy palate (even if we didn’t eat until 9:00pm).

Oh the joys of having boys…some days I feel up to the challenge and some days…God help me.

      

Update on Rocky, a.k.a. “Tick-Tac”.  He is loving Virginia Beach, VA and growing like crazy.  Below is a picture of Rocky (on the left) beside of “Noche”, Rob & Peg’s Cockapoo (Cocker Spaniel/Poodle mix) who is 7-8 years old.  Rocky is about 3 1/2 months old at the most. 

He’s gonna be a biggie….

Rocky, Noche, and Peg’s pink slipper

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

One response »

  1. Oh, yes! Your boys are going to miss their grandmother’s great cooking, but you are no slouch in that department, so nobody will starve, I’m sure! MANY years ago, when Little Caesar’s first came to our part of the country (our son was 13 at the time), the deal was that you would get two large pizzas for the price of one. Well, one pizza was for Daniel, and the other one was shared by my hubby, our daughter, and myself. Yep! He would eat an entire large pizza by himself, and it never made him heavy—back then! Sounds like you have a couple of normal boys to me, and I suppose that’s a good thing—most of the time! Oh, and thanks for the update on Rocky. He’s a cutie, but you’re right—he’ll be a big fellow!

Leave a Reply

