My name is Robin and I’m addicted to Pinning.

Standard

Yes.  I am addicted to pinning.  If you don’t know what I’m talking about, then you have never been introduced to Pinterest.  I had no idea what this craze was about until about 9 months ago when a friend turned me on to it.  I was “invited” to join and that’s all she wrote (you do have to be invited…and if you want to be invited, let me know and I’ll invite you and you too can be a Pinterest junkie!).

Can you say, “HOOKED”.   Seriously, I’ve just recently stopped beginning every sentence with, “I saw this thing on Pinterest…”  But you see, Pinterest is amazing.  There is every category of interest one can think of represented!

Okay, for those who are not familiar with Pinterest (where have you been?), I will try to explain what it is.  When a member logs onto Pinterest, there are hundreds of pictures/ideas displayed.  Pinterest members can “pin” items of interest (“pin” + “interest” = “Pinterest”) to their “boards”.  It’s like having a huge cork board that you’re push-pinning your ideas to.  And you can have as many “boards” as you like AND you get to name them whatever you want (i.e. my food board is called “Get in my belly” :)) because they’re your personal boards.

Every day, all day long, members are pinning ideas that show up on the Pinterest main page.  And they’re so good!  It’s hard to stop scrolling to see what’s been added!  Then before long, you can’t stop pinning new ideas that you never want to forget about.  I have boards full of recipes, wedding ideas (won’t need those again for awhile), fashion, home ideas, DIY ideas…even a folder called “Oh My Steve” with projects that I want Steve to take on for me!

But let me warn you…it’s crazy fun that can literally consume you…because you’re so afraid you’re going to miss an amazing idea that you just might need to pin!

Just so you’ll understand the vastness of Pinterest, here is the list of categories one can select from to check out what has been added:

Architecture, Art, Cars & Motorcycles, Design, DIY/Crafts, Education, Film/Music/Books, Fitness, Food & Drink, Gardening, Geek, Hair/Beauty, History, Holidays, Home Decor, Humor, Kids, My Life, Women’s Apparel, Men’s Apparel, Outdoors, People, Pets, Photography, Prints & Posters, Products, Science & Nature, Sports, Technology, Travel & Places, Weddings & Events, Other (like there’s anything left).

As you can see, there’s something for everyone to pin.  Some of my favorites are definitely FOOD, Fashion, DIY ideas for the home, and Gardening.  I was frequenting Wedding and Events which served us very well, might I add.  But now the nuptials have been exchanged, I can save that board for the next wedding (long time from now).

I read a funny Facebook post by my nephew, Dustin Allman, that related to Pinterest and his wife’s obvious addiction to pinning:  “With my wife pinning things all day on Pinterest, you’d think I’d start tasting some of these delicious looking “pinned” treats!”   

Dustin, don’t you know that if we stop to actually make something, we could miss some very important pinning opportunities??  He clearly doesn’t get it.

Fortunately for me, I have recognized my pinning addiction and started limiting my time spent on Pinterest.  I even decided I might even try some of the recipes I have pinned.  What a stellar idea that was.  I have found some amazing recipes that my family loves and I’ve decided to let you in on them today!  I’m attaching pictures to entice you and either the recipe or the links to lead you right where you need to go in order to make these “savory” dishes (there’s Eli’s word :)).

“Easy” Cheesy Biscuits

http://picky-palate.com/2011/02/28/easy-cheesy-bacon-biscuit-pull-aparts/

(I made these along with eggs to order for dinner the other night….HUGE high five from my guys!)

Easy Chicken Fajitas

http://realmomkitchen.com/9318/oven-baked-chicken-fajitas/

Probably my favorite recipe from Pinterest – made multiple times and NEVER any leftovers!

Ridiculously Awesome Brownie Cookies

Preheat oven to 350; smoosh 1.5 squares of break-apart refrigerated cookie dough into the bottom of each well. Place Reese cup upside down on top of cookie dough (or an Oreo!). Top with prepared box brownie mix, filling 3/4 full. Bake for 18 minutes! HEAVEN.

No kidding…these are ridiculously awesome.

These are 3 of 271 recipes that I have pinned.  See?  I did take time away from Pinterest to make something. 🙂

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

2 responses »

  1. That is one that I do not DARE to become a part of! I’m on FB too many hours already, and my husband might throw the computer out the door if I did Pinterest also!! I do see things that my FB friends post from there, so I think I have enough temptation to last for a LONG time! Enjoy, as long as you can keep it under control. Not sure there’s a 12-step program for this one…. 😉

  2. I have never took part in this web site but I will say the recipe pictures look enticing. I have had the pleasure of eating the Chicken Fahitas at Robin’s and they are delicious. When are you going to invite me to try the others. Mom

Leave a Reply

