Lord, I just want to say, “Thank You.”

Standard

Do you ever have those days when you just wake up thankful?  I have them, but not near enough.  It’s no one’s fault but my own; I should wake up thankful every single day of my life.  But some days, I just take a look around me and realize how blessed I am.

On days like these I find myself singing songs like “Thanks”:

“Thanks!  Thanks!  I give You thanks for all You’ve done!

I am so blessed, my soul is at rest, Oh Lord, I give You thanks!”

This is a song we sing at church…around Thanksgiving…one time a year is not enough to sing our thanks to the Lord!  I’m totally scheduling this song for the next couple of weeks.

I love feeling thankful.  Sadly, too often my “thankful days” are the result of some great happening in my life when truly, I should be just as happy on Monday morning headed to work as I am when relaxing on the beach during a week long vacation.  As a child of God, I should be thankful no matter what my circumstances because regardless of what I face, my future is secure.  Ahhh, another reason for me to feel especially thankful today.

I’m so thankful…

Thankful for waking up to see the morning light

Thankful that I’ve rested, safely and securely, throughout  night

Thankful for the quiet upstairs as my children safely rest

Thankful for the rise and fall as I watch each little chest

Thankful for the husband God gave to make my journey sweet

Thankful that he looks to Christ to lead and guide his feet

Thankful for a Mom and Dad who led me to the Lord

Thankful that they read, loved, cherished, and shared God’s perfect, holy Word.

Thankful for the day I surrendered and asked Christ into my heart

Thankful that from that day forward His grace He has never failed to impart

My heart is so thankful when I take time to ponder my blessings; words can’t express

May I live my life every day remembering how truly I am BLESSED.

– Robin Allman Riggins

Thankful for my sweet, godly family from whom I was shown the love of Jesus every day

Thankful for the gift to lift my song of praise to my King!

Thankful for my soul mate, best friend, protector, and spiritual leader, Steve

So thankful to be the mother of three amazing young men (and a beautiful “daughter”)

So THANKFUL.

This is my story of thanks, and I want to add chapters to it every day of my life.

Take time to be thankful today.  No matter what you may be facing, remember that the joy of the Lord is our strength!

Live out your own story of thanks!

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

3 responses »

  1. All we need to do is look around us (we don’t have to look very far), and we will find MANY reasons to be thankful! Thank you for this lovely reminder today, Robin! 🙂

  2. Well you managed to do it again, make me cry, especially when I saw the picture of our family when we moved to Burlington, (my eyes were closed in this one). So thankful to God for all of my family. You have also been blessed by God to be able to put words in poetry form. I love you,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

