R.I.P. Andy Griffith…

Standard

I just saw some very sad news.  A true legend has died.  Andy Griffith, a man who truly set a high standard for men of integrity has died.

I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone who hasn’t seen an episode of the Andy Griffith.  In fact, I’m sure everyone I know can quote at least one line from his show.  First airing in October of 1960, the Andy Griffith Show ran until August 1968; however, because America as a whole truly wants that wholesome, family friendly show that portrays a constant message of “right” and hope, it has continued to air throughout the years and still plays locally at 5:30pm every day.  No matter how much I have seen this show, it never, ever gets old.

We have minister friends, Alan & Lorraine Knolls, from South Africa who visit us every couple of years.  During some of their first visits to our home many years go, they fell instantly in love with watching the Andy Griffith Show.  So much so that Steve and I purchased a video tape package with several seasons and mailed them to Alan & Lorraine as a gift.  It was a cherished gift and one we were proud to share.

I can’t really choose a favorite episode; I always loved those featuring Opie  (what a cute kid), Ernest T. Bass and, of course, Barney Fife.  Then there’s Clara and Aunt Bee…and who can forget, Goober, Gomer, Floyd, Otis, Thelma Lou, Helen Crump, The Darlins’…I’m sure I’m leaving somebody out, but I don’t mean to.  Every single character spoke to America, whether making us laugh or bringing tears to our eyes.

My boys love watching the Andy Griffith show and, while they realize it was made before even I was born, they were taken aback when I showed them a current picture of little Opie…haha…time has a way of changing us, huh?

So, move over TomKat…it’s time to give reverence to an unexpected loss.

Thank you, Andy Griffith, for setting the wholesome standard that I wish

ALL television shows were held to.

R.I.P. Andy Griffith.  You made the world a better place.

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

2 responses »

  1. I had not yet heard this news, Robin, so I thank you for mentioning his passing here. Yes, that is one television show that lifted up family values and respect, and even gave us reasons to laugh at ourselves as we saw bits and pieces of ourselves in each episode. Oh, if we could only go back to those 60s, before the Bible was taken out of our public school system and people didn’t have to be so worried about what the children might see on TV—IF there was even a television set in the home! You are very right–this show will continue to have an audience, as I believe that most people would want their families to be close to one another and close to God, even if the lines are a bit fuzzy these days. Thank you for this lovely tribute.

  2. We have suffered a great loss. What an impact that show has had on so many people. The first time I ever heard of him was when he made the record “What It Was Was Football”, it was a hoot. If you have never heard it you should try and find it.

Leave a Reply

