It’s strangely quiet…

Standard

We are experiencing a strange quietness around our house.  You know, the kind of quiet that’s a little eerie…quiet that causes you to check from room to room to be sure everything is okay.  That’s the quiet I’m talking about.  We know everything is okay and we have a reasonable explanation for our quiet.  Caleb is out of town.

I know that I have compared Caleb to the Tasmanian Devil before because that’s as close of a comparison as I can use to accurately describe him sometimes.

        =       

                                                             Hard to believe that Tas = Caleb sometimes, huh?

I’m amazed that he loves to fish like he does because that takes such quiet patience (unless he runs in the water and catches them with his teeth….I mean, we’re not around much when he goes fishing….?).

We do miss Caleb when he’s gone, but things are a lot more relaxed.  Not that we want a vacation from Caleb…let me explain myself.  When Caleb is at home, he must constantly be going somewhere or doing something.  Since he is not licensed, getting him where he wants to go falls to his dad and me.  And the thing about Caleb is, if he’s nothing else, he’s persistent when he wants something.  It can be EXHAUSTING.  I know, he’s a teenager full of life who constantly wants to be doing something, I get that; but I’m 46 and pretty tired by the end of the day and frankly, I just want to fix dinner and CHILL.  We don’t get to chill very often. But this week, we have CHILLED.

The quiet is still strange, though. I’m ready for Caleb to be home.

Eli misses his brother, too.  Having to be the only child, playing that role to it’s fullest potential, having NO ONE to push him around or give him a hard time about everything…yeah, he misses Caleb alright.  Actually, I think he kinda does miss him.  While Caleb is a social child, Eli is a home body.  He likes the familiarity of home.  And even if home does mean sharing a room with a brother who likes to lord over him sometimes, at least it’s familiar and consistent.  And Eli misses it (even though he will deny this 5 minutes after Caleb returns.  But we can cherish it for now).

One thing I love about Eli is he is very forgiving.  And once you’re in with Eli, you’re in for good.  When he was little, Eli referred to Caleb as “his Caleb”.  Eli knows “his Caleb” is in there somewhere and will find his way out again sometime. 🙂

Keep looking Eli!

I miss these days….

*******

On a different note, here’s a funny for you.  I shared a Facebook status a week or so ago that read like this:

Glad to say that I don’t need “Magic Mike” or “Shades of Grey” ’cause God gave me AMAZING STEVE. And WOW am I a blessed woman!”

I posted this comment because of the scores of posts from ladies going on and on about both the movie and the book series.  My comment got many “likes” and several comments; mostly supportive, and some explaining why they went to see the movie “Magic Mike”, why they’re reading the books, etc.  I didn’t post the comment to be judgmental of others’ choices.  I really posted it because my comments about Steve get his goat and, well, I do love to get his goat.

Eli was curious about what my post meant so I had to explain it to him.  I got the usual turned up nose and eye roll.

Yesterday at the pool, Eli tips his head back to get the slicked back look, gets out of the pool and….VOILA.  We now have our own “Magic Eli”.  😉

Magic Eli

Oh how I love the Riggins’ life.

Caleb, come home!!

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

2 responses »

  1. LOVE IT!!! Your life takes me back several years—even a couple of decades–to the time when our children were teenagers. Our son was one of those who always had to be doing something, while our daughter was content to stay home and read a book or watch reruns of “Little House” or “The Waltons.” Sometimes I truly miss those days, but then, I’ll read a FB status from my son or daughter-in-law about what they’re doing with their three boys (14, 12, and 7), and I just sigh and take a deep breath! They DO reap what they sow—eventually!

    As for those books and the movie, people will ask me how I can be against them when I have not read/seen them. I have one FB friend, the daughter of a high school classmate, who has a radio broadcast with her sister, and they are both raving about the book series on FB, but fortunately, none of my close friends are interested after reading the reviews. I’m reminded of the little song we sing in Sunday School with the children: “Oh, be careful, little eyes, what you see!” Yes, we must guard our hearts and keep them fixed on Jesus. Anything else will lead to disappointment. Thank you for another enjoyable post! 🙂

  2. Another good one. The fact that he always has to be going somewhere sort of reminds me of someone else not only in their teen years but ever since they were about 5 years old. Love you.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

