Birds and beeeeeees…

Standard

You know, it’s hard being the parent of a teenager for so many reasons, not the least of which is DATING.  And I’m referring to legit dating, not Facebook love.

We’ve weathered the whole dating thing with Wesley and whew!  Through God’s favor and mercy (and many prayers), Wes found the woman God created for him and they are truly blessed.  Of course, both Wes & Kendal dated other people before they met, but I do believe that prayer kept them looking until they found each other.

We now begin the journey again with our 15 year old.  It’s hard to believe that Caleb is coming close to the dating age, as in, “out on a date with a girl alone” (which, by the way, is 16 in our house.  It was good enough for me, it’s good enough for him. However, I was so ugly, I didn’t have to worry much about it…).  He’ll be licensed in September and I already feel the apron strings starting to loosen just a little.

Yesterday, Caleb was invited to hang out at a girl___friend’s house (not yet ready to say “girlfriend”…they just met not long ago) this past Wednesday.  On Tuesday, before we even considered letting him go, we asked Caleb a barrage of questions to find out as much as we could about his girl___ friend.  Once we were satisfied with the answers, we then made sure that the young lady’s parents were going to be with them AT ALL TIMES.

“Yes Mom, gah, they’re going to pick me up and bring me home and they’ll be with us the whole time.”  *Sigh*…we conceded to let him go.

Please know that any apprehension we felt had NOTHING to do with the young lady he was visiting.  It was just…hard.  I’m not ready for him to grow up.  I still want him playing with G.I. Joe’s and dressing up in his military or cowboy garb.  I want him to stay my little “Cay-cu-bus” for as long as possible.

Cay-cu-bus and Mommy

On Tuesday evening  I said to Caleb, “Now, you need to be sure you treat this young lady with the utmost respect, okay?”

Caleb – “I know Mom, gah.”

Me – “And don’t let yourself get too familiar with her; cherish the purity that God gave each of you.”

Caleb – “WHAT?  Oh my gosh!  Mom, please…I know, okay?  Just…quit talking about it.”

Me – “It’s important to know that as a Christian, the Lord is always with you. He’ll help you when temptation comes…”

Caleb ‘ “Mom!  Please. Stop. Talking.  Oh my gosh…”

Alright, I felt satisfied that Caleb got my drift so I let it go.  But as fun as it was watching him become more and more mortified by our conversation, I can tell you, I hit my knees with a renewed fervor Wednesday morning.

**PARENTS, prayer is the strongest and sometimes the only weapon we have.  For our children’s sake, we MUST be prayer warriors for them. *End of sermon.

We met Caleb’s “friend”, Paige, and she’s a very sweet young lady.  Her mother is just as nice and truly made me feel at ease for any future hanging out they may may do.

But Caleb is 15…we’ve got a long way to go.  And kids nowadays start learning about “the birds and the bees” a lot sooner than my generation ever did (and if you use that term, they’ll look at you like you have two heads).

Our handsome Caleb.

 God please surround that boy!

I believe if every tween and teen had the same viewpoint as our Eli does about the “birds and the bees”, there would be nothing for parents to worry about.  Here’s why I say that…

Eli, Steve, & I were in the car together not long ago, riding through Elon, NC, the home of Elon University where I work.  Eli voiced an observation, somewhat out of the blue, that caught us by surprise big time.

“I bet a lot of these college kids have STD’s.”

As you may imagine, Steve & I were a little taken aback by this comment,  but more than that, we were curious as to why he would say it.

Me – “Eli, what makes you say that?”

Eli – “Well, in my Health class, we’re learning about…you know…”it”, and they said that’s one of the fastest growing problems with young people because they…you know…do “it” with so many people.”

Me – “That’s sad but true, Eli.  It’s why we teach all three of you boys to WAIT until you’re married to have sex and to have it only with your WIFE.” (Eli winces at the word “s-e-x”…so funny!)

Eli – “I know.  And who wants to have a baby when you’re in high school or college anyway?  That’s dumb.  I don’t get it.”

Me – “What do you mean?”

Eli – “That’s why people do it, right?  To have babies?”

Me – “YES.  YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY CORRECT.  And you don’t want to have any babies until you’re married.  Don’t ever forget that.”  😉

Eli – “I mean, you and dad don’t do it do you?”

Now it’s getting really interesting…I can’t help myself.

Me – “Oh yeah we do!”

Eli – “WHAT?  WHY??  You don’t want to have more babies do you???”

Me – “No.  It’s just something married people…”

Eli:  “Okay.  Stop.  I can’t take this conversation anymore. That’s just gross.”

Good ‘ole Eli.  I really believe he’ll be a preacher one day.  

Praying…

Before I sign off, I have to share some very proud news!  Wesley is away doing his two weeks training for the Marines.  Today, he texted me to say he won the “Gung-ho” award which is voted on by his fellow Marines.  It is awarded to the one Marine they would most want fighting by their side in battle.  ARE WE PROUD OR WHAT??

Gung-ho, baby!  OOH RAH!

Wes during his deployment to Iraq.  

Yep, he pretty much holds the sun and moon as far as we’re concerned. 

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

5 responses »

  1. Oh, yes, always keep those tweens and teens in utmost prayer!! I definitely believe that God will honor you and Steve as you hold that standard high for your boys. Thank you for approaching this subject. Although our children are both grown and married now, we have three grandsons who will be facing this issue for the next several years, and I pray that our son learned enough from his own experience to be the example for his boys. I recall, a few decades ago, when I was working at our church’s Christian school, some of the teen girls just could not believe that their parents were “doing it!” I just asked one young lady how she thought she got here, and she just could not face the fact that sex was a great part of her parents’ life! Oh, well….it seems to be that more unmarried people are enjoying what God intended for marriage these days, but we must keep those standards high!!

Leave a Reply

