You might be a redneck…

Standard

Does anyone besides me believe that God has an interesting sense of humor?  I truly believe that I have had Him slapping his knee, even though He knew what was going to happen before it ever did.  I can’t wait to laugh together with my Heavenly Father one day. Lol.

Yesterday was Caleb’s “girl—friend’s” birthday!  Her name is Paige and she is one sweet young lady.  I immediately thought she looked like a young Lauren Talley and if you know me, you’ll know how much I loved that!  Paige spent the afternoon with us Saturday and went with us to an all day benefit our church was hosting.  There were games, huge “jumpy” houses, food, a petting zoo, horseback rides, silent auction, etc.  It was great!  I enjoyed getting to know Paige and I was thankful for her kind, sweet spirit.  I think the moment she truly won my heart was when I saw her walking with Eli to the jumpy house.  I said, “Where’s Caleb?”  Paige said, “I think he’s by the horses.  I wanted to go to the jumpy houses with Eli.”  SCORE.  I called Caleb on his cell phone and said, “Hey, where are you?  Eli is dating Paige right now…” 🙂

You see, I like SLOW MOVING, confident young ladies; the kind that can walk without having to hang on to a boy; the kind that can sit on their own bottoms rather than the lap of a young man (and THAT makes me crazy.  Yes, I’m extremely old fashioned and proud of it).  I basically like to see the light of day streaming between the young couple…get my drift?  Paige is sizing up to be that kind of slow moving girl and I like that.  So, back to her birthday…

Sunday night, Caleb says, “Mom, can you take me out to buy Paige a birthday present?”  Of course I was going to take him!  And I made many suggestions to him:

“Do you want to get her some pretty flowers?”

“No.  I don’t think she’ll like flowers.”

“ALL girls like flowers.  Okay, how about a nice little gift basket from Bath & Body Works?”

“No.  Eww.  I’ll think about it and let you know.”

Monday rolled around and I knew that I had one lunch hour to help Caleb find his gift.  He calls me at work…”Mom, I need for you to take me to Tractor Supply so I can buy Paige’s birthday present.”

You might be a redneck…..Lord, help me.

This is where God’s sense of humor comes in.  You see, I want Caleb to wear oxford shirts and a bow-ties; he longs to be in camouflage.  His dad wants him to wear Nike’s and play basketball; Caleb wants to wear cowboy boots and go fishing every day.

But at the end of the day, who cares?  So we have plans and dreams for our boys…we’ve learned quickly that God’s plans and dreams are bigger for them than ours ever could be.  We learned this very thing through Wesley.  I knew that boy had strong leadership abilities if I could ever get him out of that “don’t put me out there” way of thinking.  But as his Mom, I wanted to “love and direct him” towards his gifts.  God knows I would NOT have directed him to the military, especially the Marines!  But it was during boot camp and through his military experience that God worked on his heart and used the Marine Corps to bring out the strong, caring, compassionate leader God created him to be.  God’s ways are so much better than our ways, always.

And God loves rednecks. 😉

p.s. Paige loved her gift!  It was a pink John Deere shirt.  *Sigh*

*  **  **  **  **  *

I want to brag on our Marine who just returned from a two weeks Corporal course in New Jersey.  Wes was tops in his class, missing top honor grad by .08 of a point.  BUT he won the coveted “Gung-Ho” award!  This award is voted upon by the Marines and goes to the one Marine they would most want to have fighting beside of them in combat.

We’re so proud of you, Corporal Wesley Fogleman!

Now for the funny stuff…

Eli found a magnifying glass and, as is the case with most anything we do, he found a way to have fun with it using my camera:

     

My nostrils look HUGE.  Whoa….:)

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

7 responses »

  1. AND you burned your name into a block of wood! Chris, we did unconventional things with conventional items, too…i.e. recording ourselves burping was one of my favorites. Lol!!

  2. I do remember the burping tape and it is here somewhere, maybe we will take a “year” and go through the tapes. Remember the wood to, I think it is in the garage.

  3. I was going to ask you what Caleb got for Paige, but I see someone beat me to it. I think she sounds like a lovely, down-to-earth young lady, and she is probably very good for Caleb, especially when he gets into an ego trip. I’d say she can put a quick end to that trip, and that’s always a good thing! I’m glad Janice was your mother—I can just imagine what a time you and your brothers had as children!!! I hope that burping was done in a good tempo that could be set to music… 😉

    I don’t blame you at all for being proud of Wes. Being selected for such an honor by your peers is greater than other honors. Sort of like being Miss Congeniality at the Miss America pageant, only MUCH more significant for a military man or woman.

    I love reading your family adventures! There might be a book in your future…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

