I saw what you did…

Standard

Wow!  It seems so long since I’ve had the chance to sit and write!  Not that I’ve had a lack things to write about, just a lack of time.  I like being busy because it means we’re blessed with many opportunities in our lives, but I do love my down time.  And most times when I get to down time, I really go down…like OUT.   As in SOUND ASLEEP.  It can be kind of embarrassing actually. 

Kendal, Steve, and I were watching this great movie the other night and we were all eagerly waiting to see what happened at the end.  With 10 minutes left to go, I just doze off!  Suddenly, I wake up and  hear Kendal & Steve talking about the ending and I see the credits rolling!  Thank God for TiVo!  I said, “Oh shoot!  I missed the end!  Can I run it back real fast?”  They couldn’t believe I had fallen asleep at such a crucial point in the movie but I couldn’t help it…I must have blinked a second too long and my eyes just stayed shut. 

My family has come to expect my “drop offs”, but it’s really embarrassing when it effects the outside world.  The other night, Caleb came home from hanging out with Paige and her family and he invited them to come in to say hello.  FORTUNATELY, he knows me well and said, “Let me make sure they’re up first.”  NOPE.  This time, Steve and I were both out;  eyes shut, mouths open.  Poor Caleb had to tell them we’d have to talk to them another time.  Sorry buddy…

I want to share a funny story from this past weekendwith the fam.  Saturday night, for once, I actually was not very sleepy and I found an old black and white horror movie from 1965 called “I Saw What You Did”.  It was not really scary at all (especially compared to the movies they come up with nowadays) and was actually more like a comedy/horror.  At  least my family made it that way.  We laughed at the cheesiness of the characters and at the clothes, cars, and customs of 1965.  We made up our own dialogue and provided sound effects where we thought they were needed.  It was really quite fun. 

Wes & Kendal were watching with us and at one point, the young starlet in the movie starts walking through a room where she knows the killer is.  Wes says, “Haha…look how nonchalant she is walking.”   Suddenly, Caleb starts laughing his head off at Wes’s comment like he’s just heard the funniest joke of the night!  We were all waiting to hear what was so funny and when he finally could speak, he said, “Haha!!  Wes said “nonchalant!!” (more uncontrolable laughter), “WHAT DOES THAT EVEN MEAN?”   There was a slight silent pause as we all let his comment register and then, as you can magine, we were all killing ourselves laughing at Caleb.  It was a hilariously blonde moment!

 

Teens making prank calls…chick on the left was the “nonchalant” one

                    Killer, bad guy, over all meanie…

I think we’ll start a “black and white move night” at the Riggins’ house.  No bad language, no inappropriate sex scenes, and a great use of imagination and humor on our parts.

                                                                                            ***********                                                                                                                                                                        

So, today is August 1st, official Chick-fil-a Appreciation Day, and I just want to go on record as saying that I am in complete support of this fine establishment!  Yes, I support Chick-fil-a because I fundamentally believe the same way their president does.  Yes, I support them because I believe that they have THE best customer service of almost any restaurant I’ve ever been to.  And yes, I support them because, bottom line, they consistently provide an AMAZING CHICKEN SANDWICH!

Having said all of the above, I want anyone reading this to know that, while I wholely support Chick-fil-a, I do not hate those who oppose it; it is their right.  While I don’t agree with them, I certainly don’t hate or even dislike them for it.  It’s not my place to judge anyone; that alone is God’s job. 

As a Christian, I am called to stand up for the cause of Christ AND to love everyone.  That in no way means that it is the Christian’s calling  to condone and support everyone’s lifestyles regardless of whether it lines up with the Word of God or not, or in other words, to simply “coexist”; but the actions of a Christian will either draw others to Christ or turn them from Him.  This “drawing others to Christ” aroma that is to permiate the life of a Christian is not something we can produce on our own.  It only comes when we totally surrender ourselves to the Lord and allow the Holy Spirit to lead, guide, and direct our every step, every word, every deed.  HE has to love through us.  For the Christian, it has to be a DAILY surrendering process…actually for me, some days it’s minute by minute surrendering. 

I want to look, act, and react like Jesus.  I want my life to be a sweet smelling aroma to the Lord; one that draws others to Christ. 

Speaking of sweet smelling aroma, you can look for me at Chick-fil-a today where I’ll be taking in that sweet smelling aroma of a #1 Combo…

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

3 responses »

  1. Great article, and I’m with you on supporting CFA!!! I always love hearing about your wonderful family times together, too! I’m sure there are times when you pray for just ONE dull moment! Have a wonderful day! 🙂

  2. Another precious story from the Riggins. I can sympathize with you because I, also, fall asleep but sometimes it is as early as 7 to 8 p.m. while I am trying to watch Wheel Of Fortune and Jeopardy.
    I will be at CFA this evening before church. Love my church.

Leave a Reply

