Salt in the wound

Standard

I have truly been blown away recently at the uproar over Chick-fil-a; all because of the Christian beliefs of the founding Cathy family and their desire to impart godly standards into their company.  I have personally been tagged with the label “hater” because I am in support of Chick-fil-a and the Cathy family.

Today’s blog entry is not an opportunity for me to rant or even to try to defend what I believe.  In fact, I want to be sure that nothing I say will harm my testimony or come across hurtful at all.  As I was on my knees this morning, I was praying for godly wisdom for the day and Holy Spirit direction in all that I say and do.  As I prayed, this verse came to my mind:

“You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavor, how shall it be seasoned? It is then good for nothing but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men….

I want to be the salt of the earth, but as Caleb would say, “What does that even mean??” 

I began to think of all of the advantages there are to salt and why the Lord would call us to be the “salt of the earth”.  I know it enhances and compliments the taste of food, but it also serves to heal.  While it does heal, have you ever had salt touch an open wound?  If so, you’ll know that IT BURNS.

The Lord began to remind me this morning that this world is wounded.  Those who have not experienced the redeeming love and salvation of Jesus Christ are broken, wounded, and lost; and they don’t even know it.  When we as Christians speak truth to those who are spiritually lost, we are literally pouring salt on a wound.  This is why we get the reactions that we do from the world when we stand up for the truth according to God’s word; the wound just received a dose of salt and IT BURNS.

While “the truth will set you free” for sure, we must also remember that sometimes “the truth hurts”.  As Christ followers, it should never be our goal to hurt anyone for any reason. Ever.  At all.  Our conversation must be not only seasoned with salt, but also covered in love – the love of our merciful and gracious Savior, Jesus Christ.  The Lord will give us the words of truth to share, or lead us to be silent.

Christians beware.…if you there is any part of your flesh that has not been crucified or totally surrendered to the Lord, you can quickly cross the line of hurt by interjecting personal feelings and opinions.  This can do much damage to the cause of Christ!  When we’re offended by the world, many times the Lord will lead us to be silent and pray.  He leads by example.  Remember, when He was being questioned prior to his crucifixion, He was silent.

He was led as a sheep to the slaughter; And as a lamb before its shearer is silent, So He opened not His mouth. – Acts 8:32

We don’t want our salt to lose it’s saltiness.  That’s what happens when we allow our personal voice to be heard over the Lord’s, when we step outside of what He is leading us to share.  We can damage our testimonies, further leading the lost ones around us down a road of confusion.

Finally, remember that our reward is not in this world.  This world is NOT our home.  If you feel hated by the world, don’t lose heart; the world hated Jesus first.  It only makes sense that the world would hate His followers.

Let your speech always be with grace, seasoned with salt, that you may know how you ought to answer each one.  – Colossians 4:6

Christians, let’s be salt to the lost so that they thirst for the LIVING WATER!

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

11 responses »

  1. I just discovered you through Evangeline’s post on FB – wonderful blog & this was a much needed reminder to me today – SURRENDER ALL! Thanks for a gentle reminder towards being obedient to HIM! (ps love the dentist comment on your intro line lol!) Denise

    • Thank you, Denise! Great to “meet” you, my sister. Believe me, God had to remind me of this – I’m so thankful for His tender mercies and His constant leading. God bless you! p.s. I tend to be corny…haha…;)

      • As you will see from my blogs – I can be the same! Also I too find BLOGGING like preaching, you get tested in what you write! God uses it all! Delighted to have you on board! Hope I can bless you too! =)

  2. Thank you for this blog, so many times we are tempted to just let someone have it verbally but as I have tried to live by this rule that, “once the word is spoken it cannot be taken back, you can say I am sorry but the damage is done.” Lord help me to remember that.
    Love,
    Mom

    • Mom, I actually thought about you when I wrote this because your words always seem to be perfectly seasoned with the love of Christ. I want and need to be more like that. I love you and thank you for being such a shining example of Christ. ❤

  3. Thank you for this wonderful reminder of our position in Christ and our obligation to Him to be those who will not bring shame to His name. Last week, one of my Facebook friends, a former co-worker who is homosexual and belongs to a very liberal Episcopalian congregation in our community, wrote a lengthy post, demonizing CFA and all the company represents, wrongly accusing them of being discriminatory, just as so many other folks have done. I was SO tempted to throw in a comment that he was not being as “tolerant” as he was expecting others to be, but God kept me from hitting the first key in response to him. I hope my silence was noticed, as I did not have any desire to argue with this young man. I have posted a few articles that I thought explained the Cathys’ viewpoint fairly, but have otherwise tried to stay out of the discussion, because it can easily escalate to a very ugly display of emotions rather than spiritual thoughtfulness. As I have aged, I have found myself weighing my words carefully, but I’m not always successful at keeping my big mouth shut! Thank you again, and I pray that I’ll be more careful how I use my words, using HIS words instead, with love and gratitude to Him always!

  4. Thank you Robin, I truly enjoy reading your blog and agree with what you say. I also enjoy your singing at church you do a great job . Sally

  5. Robin, thanks for sharing your testimony and love for Christ with everyone who will take the time to read and share in the journey with you. I appreciate your words and I know God is using you to touch us all. Christians, as much as any one else, need encouragement and reminders every day. I know I do. Thanks! Sonja

  6. I needed this today! God always sends help when we need it most. He has never let me down. I could shout it from the mountain top. Thank you Sister in Christ. Jan

  7. Well written with love and grace. Such is our Lord, a loving, merciful God. He is amazing and as Christians, we must share his word with love., Thank you Robin….Love you

Leave a Reply

