I’m not cut out for the single life….

Standard

I’d like to think that I never take my husband for granted.  Steve is one of the most caring, giving, unselfish, sacrificial people I know and I’m blessed and thankful to God every day that he’s mine (not to mention he is SO FINE).  On occasion, Steve’s work takes him out of town overnight and, when that happens, I really feel the impact of how much he contributes every day…and I miss him.  A lot.  Last night was one of those out of town nights.  Ugh…

Because I work full-time during the day and part-time with our church, it’s necessary for some of my evenings to be spent working at the church.  Last night was to be one of those nights and I was scheduled to be at church by 6:30pm.  With Steve out of town, I needed to make a plan to get the boys all set before I headed out.  1) Feed Eli (and myself), 2) wait for Caleb to call from football practice to be picked up (usually 6ish), 3)  feed Caleb, 4) get both boys settled so that I’m comfortable leaving them alone for a couple of hours.  Shouldn’t be too hard, right?

6:15 – no call yet from Caleb.  I knew I was going to most likely be late for my 6:30 meeting, but then, like an angel, my Mother offers to save the day for me.  She would pick up Caleb and get him dinner so I could head on out.  Score.

I got one block from our church when my phone rang.  It was Caleb.  I started right in, “Hey buddy, Are you done? I’ll call Mamaw because she’s going to pick you up for me and get you something for dinner.  I have a meeting at church…”

Caleb – “No.  Coach needs you to come get me.  He needs to talk to you.”

Me – “Why?  What have you done?”

Caleb – “Nothing!  But he needs to talk to you because he thinks I might have a concussion.”

Seriously?  With a head like Caleb’s??  No way.

I make the call to the church that I’m going to be late and head to the high school.  After talking to the team trainer, he was 80% certain that Caleb did NOT have a concussion (thank You, Lord), but rather a migraine, which Caleb tends to have frequently.  To be on the safe side though, Caleb needed to be watched and given only Tylenol (Oh wonderful. Wouldn’t you know that all I had was Ibuprofen?).  The other instructions – watch him closely in case he falls asleep “out of the ordinary”.  And what is that exactly?  I mean, he is 15 years old, just finished a 2 hour football practice, he hasn’t slept until noon for the past two days like he has all summer, and he has a migraine.  Should I consider sleep out of the ordinary?

Off we go; first to McDonald’s for dinner, then to CVS for Tylenol, then home.  I got Caleb settled, gave him his medicine, and gave instructions to Nurse Eli: watch him in case he does something “weird” (??), give him a cold rag for his head, and call me or Mamaw if they needed anything.

Finally, I got to the church by 7pm and got to work.  MAYBE 30 minutes after I arrived, my cell rings and the number reflects “Home”.  I quickly answer, “Hello?  Eli?  Is everything okay?”

Eli, in his ever so sweet voice says, “Um, Mom, um, yeah, well, everything is okay with Caleb.  He’s asleep (great).  But, I was jumping on the trampoline and, well, I got really hot and all of a sudden really tired and my stomach started hurting, and…”

Me – “Eli, do you feel like walking over to Mamaw’s to have her check on you?”

Eli – “Uh, yeah, I guess so.  See, she brought me a chocolate milkshake and, well,….”

Me – “Okay.  Buddy, did you drink all of the milkshake and then get back on the trampoline?”

Eli – “Uh-huh.”

Smiling, shaking my head, rolling my eyes, loving that boy more with every word.

Me – “Okay buddy.  Just head on over to Mamaw’s….”  Thank God for Mamaw.

I do love that I’m still so needed by our boys.  But Steve, I’ma need for you to get on home…now.

*                                                              *                                                                       *                                                                       *

I don’t know how many of you follow me on Facebook, but I posted kind of a funny comment last week regarding Fiber One bars.  Here’s what prompted the post.  Earlier that day, I kept seeing on my home page posts from high school kids that all started with”Truth is….”.  I thought I’d join the bandwagon so here was my post:

“I’m amused at all the “Truth is…” statuses and thought I’d join in. Truth is….Fiber One bars give you gas. Especially when you eat two in one day. #pfffft”

I got a lot of funny comments regarding this “truth”.  And believe me, it IS the truth.  Obviously, I’m not the only one who has experienced the wrath of too many Fiber One bars in a day.

The Friday after I posted that comment, I was walking through the house and saw Caleb, reclined in his dad’s chair, with a pile of wrappers by his chair.  Oh my Steve!!  They were Fiber One wrappers!  I grabbed a wrapper and said, “Caleb!  How many of these did you eat??”

Caleb – “Five.  Those are good brownies.”

HOLY COW!  He was a ticking time bomb!

With it being Friday night, we had planned to attend the first Western High School Varsity football game – Go Warriors! – and I was scheduled to work concessions.  Wanting to keep “an eye” on my 15 year old, I called his cell phone to see where he was.  When he answered, he sounded like he was in a tunnel.  “Hey buddy, where are you?”

Caleb – “I’m in the bathroom.  Mom, my stomach is killing me.”  I wonder why?  I’m sorry, but I had to laugh.

Let’s just say that on the ride home, we all looked like dogs with our heads hung out the window.

Here’s some free advice: NEVER eat more than one Fiber One bar in a day and know this; five Fiber One bars can be lethal.  Shoooo-wee!

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

3 responses »

  1. …..but ONLY 90 calories for ONE!!! LOL I have learned not to eat more than the recommended serving size of Total cereal, too….similar results! Anyway, I’m happy to know that Caleb’s hard head kept him safe, and hope Steve gets home quickly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

