Clean out the lint trap!

Standard

I absolutely LOVE doing laundry, said no mother of boys ever.  No matter how diligent I am at keeping up the laundry, it’s still there.  I can finish 3 loads of laundry (which usually takes a day, maybe two to pile up); washed, dried, folded, and put away, then return to the laundry room only to find some dirty something laying in the floor, in front of the dirty clothes basket.  Yes I said in front of the dirty clothes basket.  And no, my boys apparently cannot hit a 1′ x 2′ opening.  It’s easier to think that than to believe they’re just too lazy to walk one more step and drop it in the basket.

And I won’t even mention some of the things I find in the laundry.  Seldom is it a stray $5 bill.  I want to put a sign in each bathroom in my house, “IF IT’S STILL THERE, KEEP WIPING.”  Maybe that’s more info than I should offer, but I feel safe that all doers of laundry in a house with children can relate.

Ughhhh, the process of laundry goes on and on and on.  I would call it job security, but who in the world is going to fire me?

Today, I am home with Caleb, our middle son, who had some minor oral surgery.  He’s doing fine and currently loving the pain medicine that has him sleeping like a baby.

While he rests, I decide to start in on the laundry.  Already there are two loads of clean clothes to put away (the boys just couldn’t find the time…sure, right, whatever), one load to fold and three loads to wash.  Once I finished folding the clothes in the dryer and began to replace them with freshly washed clothes, I remembered that I’d better clean out the lint trap.

Now, when we purchased our dryer, the manufacturer’s label warned to clean out the lint trap after each washing.  We did so…for awhile.  Then, it became easier to wait after a couple of loads to clean it out.  I understand the importance of cleaning out the lint trap, but it’s just kind of gross what it catches.

It’s funny what the Lord uses to teach me (at least today it’s not one of our dogs).  As I wiped out the lint trap, the Holy Spirit began to teach me that my mind is like a lint trap.  It catches everything that I see or watch, hear or listen to, and say or even think about saying.  At the end of the day, I could be pretty grossed out if the Lord allowed me to see just what my mental “lint trap” caught.  THUS the importance of keeping it cleaned out EVERY DAY.

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Romans 12:2

We live in the world, we are surrounded by the world; yet we are not to be of the world.

“Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.” 1 John 2:15

That’s pretty clear teaching.  But I submit to you that, without a daily cleansing from the Lord of our minds and hearts through prayer and feeding on His word, it’s virtually impossible not to be effected by the trappings of this world.  We are in the world, we are surrounded by the world, yet we are to be DIFFERENT from the world.  Peculiar, even.  The truth is, we cannot achieve this on our own.  But grace says we don’t have to.

“The one who keeps God’s commands lives in him, and he in them. And this is how we know that he lives in us: We know it by the Spirit he gave us.” 1 John 3:24

Upon salvation, God fills us with His precious Holy Spirit and SEALS US.  The Holy Spirit will never leave us.  But know this; He will never force His way upon us, either.  The Father desires that we come to Him, that we seek Him, that we want a relationship with Him.  We are not to simply be selfish recipients of grace; that’s such an empty and wasted life.  Christ knows that when we take the time to be still before Him and listen, His words will change our lives.  His direction will lead us perfectly.  His perfect will for us will become all that we desire.

Father, please, please clean out my mental lint trap – moment by moment if necessary.  I want to be filled with YOU and I want nothing hindering the flow of Your sweet Spirit within me.

Clean out your lint trap every, single day…

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

One response »

  1. What a wonderful illustration for our spiritual lives! Thank you for this, and I’m sharing it to FB. Most of our battles begin in the mind, and we MUST keep it clean and pure for the Holy Spirit to fill with the right thoughts. Mine has to be cleansed often during the course of a day, and I don’t think I’m really that different from other folks, as the things that come across the TV, internet, or just through our own thoughts and reminiscences can lead to a dwelling on unholy topics. Oh, and I definitely remember those days when there was ALWAYS something dirty lying around! These days, I sometimes miss doing those clothes for my children, but my aching back reminds me that there is a good reason for doing only one or two loads a week now! Praying that Caleb will be back to “normal” (does that word even apply to him?) very soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

