Oh the power of suggestion…

Standard

When I was a little girl, I used to LOVE being too sick to go to school.  Seriously….in elementary school, I always looked for ways to go home from school early.  I simply wanted to be at home instead of at school.  I very often went to my teacher saying that I didn’t feel well and needed to go home.  Obviously, that’s all it took back then.  I remember the nurse taking my temperature every time I went to the office, but it didn’t seem to matter that I never had a fever.  They always called my mother.

One day when I was in first or second grade, the nurse called my mother because, yet again, I was “sick”.  On this particular day, my mother did not have a car because one of the two cars we had was in the shop and my dad was using our only running vehicle.  My mother tried to reason with the school nurse, asking to have me sent back to class to “try” to make it through the day, because 1) I didn’t have a fever and 2) she had no way of coming to get me; but nothing doing.  According to the nurse, I was “sick”.

Bless her heart, my mother had no recourse but to call a TAXI to come pick me up at school and drive me home.  I knew getting into the yellow automobile that this was probably not going fare well for me.  I don’t know if my mother was more scared to tell my father that she had had to call a taxi to pick me up or if I was more scared to face the man for coming home “sick” again (knowing that I really wasn’t).  I do remember that he was NOT happy and that he made quite the “impression” on me.  That was about the time that I decided a full day at school wasn’t all that bad.

Fast forward a lot of years.  Occasionally my own boys will try to get out of going to school citing that they’re just “too sick”.  But I know the signs; I was the master pretender at being sick, remember?  Usually, the rule at our house is if there’s no fever, there’s no staying home from school.  At least that’s how it was with Wes and most of the time with Caleb.  But Eli?  Well, now he’s a different story.

Eli takes all of my skills to a new level.  I pretty much know the night before if he’s going to be “too sick to go to school” the  next morning.  All Eli needs is a single symptom OR better yet, leverage (i.e. there’s a virus going around school, his best friend has strep throat, etc.) and he’s good to go…or rather stay….at home.

Such is the case this week.  If you recall from my previous blog, Caleb had missed school this past Friday due to some oral surgery so, I think in Eli’s mind, Caleb was one up on him.  On Monday of this week, the boys didn’t have school due to Labor Day.  That evening, Eli started complaining that his throat was “killing” him.  Now, I didn’t doubt that he had a sore throat because he has allergies, but I assured him it was just good ‘ole drainage and that after taking his allergy meds he would be fine.

I watched his countenance fall when he didn’t seem to get the response from me that he had hoped for.  And I could see it coming…he was going for a sick day.  Sorry buddy.  I was going to be TOUGH this time.  School just started for heaven’s sake!

It was time for dinner and we had invited my mother over to eat with us.  Eli came to the table, so very obvious; shoulders slumped, mouth droopy, heavy sighs followed by grabbing his throat in pain, then hand to the forehead….you get the picture.   We sat down to eat and it was time for the inevitable.  My dear mother says, “Eli, honey, are you okay?  What’s wrong?”

Here it comes…

Eli – “My throat is KILLING me.” (heavy sigh followed by exaggerated wince and blinking of the eyes), “It hurts to even eat.” (Yet, he didn’t stop eating.)

Mom – “Well, you know there’s a virus going around….”  Screeching brakes!!!!

Simultaneously, Steve and I cough, clear our throats, I do the “cut action” across my throat so Mom will stop with the word “virus”, and Steve, right eyebrow raised, speaks up confidently and assuredly, “Oh, this is not a virus, this is allergies.

But alas, all of our efforts were in vain.  The seed had been planted….

Eli “worsened” as the night went on, even citing that his friend had missed school on Friday with this “VIRUS” and he must have given it to him.  Yeah, right.

Eli was riding this one out.  He even  went so far as to join me on the trampoline outside in order to “try to make himself feel better” (what a guy).  But after about 20 minutes, he realized that the jumping made his throat hurt worse…something about it making him thirsty which made his throat feel parched.  Poor thing….(eye roll).

Well, you guessed it.  Eli stayed home Tuesday.  Fever?  No.  But he did sleep a good part of the day.

Does anyone know if there is  a “I need to sleep all day” virus going around?   If so, DON’T TELL US!  We don’t want Caleb getting it.  Apparently, Eli has already had it. Lol.

Oh, but God is good!  By the time I got home from work on Tuesday, Eli was a different person and it no longer bothered him to jump on the trampoline.

In situations like this, I usually like to say that our boys are “just like their daddy”; but in this case, Eli was channeling his Mama. Ugh…

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

2 responses »

  1. Hahahahaha!!! Bless your heart! I’m very glad that our children enjoyed school, so there was no reason for them to “be sick!” Of course, I worked at the school, so I knew about any viruses that might be going around ahead of time, and could judge whether there was a need to stay home. This does remind me of a time in my own life, though, when I had to be taken home from high school because I broke out with measles (we called them “three-day”) during first period science class. We did not have a telephone, so there was no way to notify my parents, and the assistant principal took me home, which was about ten miles from school. These days, she probably would get in trouble for such a thing, but that was back in a much more simple time, when teachers and principals were trusted to make wise decisions. I actually hated it, because I enjoyed school, and those three days were the only time I missed during my entire high school days, which was four years at that time….no middle or intermediate school in our county. Oh, well….I hope Eli will not have any more sick spells! Take care of yourself, too—-you know, there might be something going around! 😉 Sounds like a case of “Allmanitis” to me!

  2. I agree with this ha ha but there is something because myself and Maggie has a very sore throat I have slept all day but as you stated she has made it to school by force ha but in his defense there is a virus have pitty this time mom ha ha

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

