Deja Vu all over again…

Standard

There are so many things that I love about being the mother of my boys.  They never want to borrow my clothes, a little water (or spit) in the hair makes them presentable, as long as they have clean jeans and a t-shirt they’re good to go in the mornings, and they like CONTACT SPORTS.  The only time that last item is bad is when they decide to make “contact” in my house.  I’ve enjoyed watching all three of my boys discover sports from pee wee age.  Let me tell you, it’s a proud moment when you realize that your little boy has become a man as they burst onto the playing field.

As I’ve written before, Wesley, our oldest son, has been our child of “firsts”.  We have experienced a lot as Wesley has grown up and we are still experiencing  first time life changes as God presents His path before Wes and Kendal.

I remember well the year that Wes overnight grew a NECK.  Not until I looked at a picture just the year before did I notice how he had filled out!  He became a Western “Warrior” playing both football and lacrosse for his high school, but football was my favorite sport.  That boy could hit.  HARD.

#30

Wes was a linebacker and he was tough.  I loved watching all of the Warriors play ball, but you know, when your kid is on the field, that’s the one that has your undivided attention.  Having his name called out on the loud speaker as he took down his opponent was icing on the cake.

I remember so well one game during his junior year in high school.  The opposing team had the ball and just as he passed it to his receiver, Wes turned in time to catch it.  With natural reaction, he intercepted the ball and turned towards Western’s end zone running for a touchdown.  He made it right to the end zone before being tackled, but he was instrumental in allowing the Warriors to immediately score a touchdown.

 I. Went. Ballistic!  I was jumping up and down, screaming, yelling, cheering…and wetting my pants.  Literally.  Listen, moms will tell you; after birthing babies, jumping results in leaking.  But hey, it was worth it.  I couldn’t have been more proud of my #30!

Great memories for sure.  Yep, Wes was our child of firsts; but we’re not done.  We have two more boys and we get to experience their firsts.

Next up, CALEB RIGGINS…

Last night, we watched Caleb take the football field.  Caleb is #30 – how fitting.  Caleb had an amazing game.

Caleb was in on multiple tackles!

Caleb recovered a fumble!!

Caleb INTERCEPTED THE BALL and ran it back within 15 yards of the Warrior end zone!!!

Caleb made me pee my pants…again.  Seriously, so worth it.

Good ‘ole #30…

(Notice how much he looks like my other #30!)

Hot,  yucky, sweaty, and loving on his Mama…

AND his brother.

  That’s good stuff….

GO WARRIORS!

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

4 responses »

  1. Robin, I so know how you feel. I loved watching Jordan play and really miss those days. We will be looking forward to hearing Caleb’s name called a lot over the next 4 years. I am hearing a lot of good things about this freshmen class. Maybe another ring??? Let’s hope so! I love Friday Night football. GO WARRIORS!!

  2. A ring!! That would be awesome! Although Wes would NOT be happy..Lol! He went to 3 final play-off games with Coach Capps but no ring. But he did have Coach Capps which was a reward all it’s own. Just like Caleb will experience with Coach Snuffer!

  3. These are such wonderful times, and I’m happy to hear about these achievements your boys have made and are making! Our son did not excel in athletics, but we had many proud (and thankful) academic moments with both our son and our daughter. They seem to have inherited my athletic ability, which is somewhere around “1” on a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the best! Daniel is still struggling with parts of his periodic fitness tests in the USAF—he has no problem with the crunches and push-ups, but the running is just not a natural thing for his short legs and stocky build, so we pray for him in that area of his “athletic career!” I’m sure you will have many more wonderful moments with Caleb as he continues to play his heart out for his team, and I’m also sure that he will be a great source of strength for his teammates. Love hearing about your children, always!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

