I crown thee “Hot Dog King”

Standard

I cannot believe that December is already here!  It seems to come more swiftly every year, but I have to admit that the kid in me doesn’t mind at all.  With our three boys growing up, the anticipation and expectation of Christmas Day is a bit different; but it’s still a very exciting time at the Riggins’ house.

And it’s such a fun time to shop for our boys!   Steve especially loves Christmas shopping because our sons are at the age where they all enjoy the same things; for the most part, hunting and fishing.  That means our shopping list consists of LOTS of camouflage; camo for hunting in warm weather, camo for hunting in cold weather, under layers of camo, scentless camo, camo for hunting deer, different camo for hunting ducks…the list goes on and on.

eli hunter 2     robin and caleb    wes and deer head

They like to throw in a little blaze orange for a pop of color.

While I enjoy making our boys happy, camo is not really my “thang.  But thanks to Wes, I have a girl to shop for, too!  Funny thing is, I think Kendal likes camo as much as the boys…:)

robin and kendal

We’re kinda two peas in a pod…

Let me tell you, all this camo shopping can get very expensive.  So, it helps that we have a son who works at Dick’s Sporting Goods!  Wesley works at Dick’s and we very frequently take advantage of his 25% employee discount.  But to add to our good fortune, yesterday was “Family Appreciation Day” for all Dick’s employees which meant family members of Dick’s employees receive an additional 10% on top of the employee discount!  35% off baby!

So, as soon as church was over, we headed to Dick’s for the 7pm start time of Family Appreciation Night.  As we approached the store, a wonderful aroma hit us in the face and it was coming from an outside grill.  A grill outside of Dick’s, that is.

“Wow, that smells good!”

“It’s hotdogs for Family Appreciation Night!”

SCORE!  35% discount AND free dinner!  This is a treat indeed.

We  hit the store and began shopping, desperately trying to keep hidden the items we were buying since all the family decided to come along.  After a while of shopping and being assured that he wasn’t getting anything that he could sport before Christmas Day, Eli says, “Well, I’m hungry. What’s for dinner?”

Me – “Well, you can have a free hot dog here or leftover spaghetti when we get home.”

Eli – “I think a hot dog sounds great.”  And off he went for his free dinner.

Steve & I shopped for a little longer before deciding we needed to take advantage of a free hot dog ourselves.  Eli found us fixing our dogs and began fixing a plate for himself.   We loaded up our plates with dogs, Doritos, Christmas cookies, and a free drink and found the closest place to settle for our free dinner.

Once our dogs were downed, I looked at Eli and said, “Do you want anything else to eat?” Eli said, “No, I’ve already had 4 hotdogs so I’m getting pretty full.”

Me – “FOUR HOT DOGS?!  Are you serious??”

Eli – “Yeah, but I only ate the bun with two of them.”

This didn’t even bring into account the Doritos, Cheetos, Mountain Dew, and Christmas cookies he had enjoyed.  I’m pretty sure Dick’s didn’t mean for it to be an “all you can eat” buffet and Wes might receive a company memo about family members taking advantage of their free food…

We left Dick’s and headed home.  Literally, as soon as we hit the door, Eli says, “Ugh…I don’t feel so good.” and off to the bathroom he ran.  Oh mercy…thank God for Febreeze…whew!

christmas hot dogI think we’ve had our share of hot dogs this Christmas. 

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

Leave a Reply

