Get up on that roof, man!

Standard

I am married to a “do-it-yourselfer” if there ever was one.  Steve Riggins’ motto is, “Why pay someone to do something you can do yourself”.  My answer, “Because I want it done this year.”  

All jokes aside, I can attribute a lot of wonderful things done around our house to the skills of my amazing husband.  He’s quite handy and, best of all, he’s willing to take on many of the projects I bring to the table (and I’m constantly bringing projects to the table).  I even have a Pinterest board entitled, “Oh My Steve!” that’s FULL of things for him to do when he has the time. Whether it’s inside remodeling our living room or outside tearing down and replacing a deck, he’s got the skills for the job.

Unless we’re talking about the roof….now that’s a different story.

About 2 years ago, we noticed a bad place in the ceiling of our kitchen and discovered that we had a small leak in our roof that was around some ventilation pole thingy that stuck up out of our roof.  We had the roof accessed and fixed by a professional, but my handyman repaired the ceiling; tearing out the damaged sheetrock, replacing it, mudding it, sanding it, repainting it – the whole nine yards.  He is a STUD.

About 2 months ago, while outside doing something else productive, Steve glanced up and had a thought, “I wonder if I should caulk around that pole where we had the leak a couple of years ago.  Yes, I think I should.”  And off to get the caulk gun and extension ladder he went.

Eli and I were placed at the base of the ladder to hold it securely while Steve hoisted his necessary items up the ladder with him.  Up, up, up he went, all the way about waist-high to the gutter.

Now, let me stop here and explain that we live in a Cape Cod style home with a pretty steep pitched roof.  And it’s much steeper when you’re about to step onto it.

Contemplating...

Contemplating…

Steve stood there for a few minutes as Eli and I watched on.

Me – “What’s wrong?”  Steve – “Nothing.”  Me – “What are you waiting on?”  Steve – “I’m thinking.” I looked at Eli and we shared shrugs.

First step...hands on the roof...

First step…hands on the roof…

About 5 minutes later…Me – “What’s wrong?”  Steve – ” NOTHING.”  Me – “You okay?”  Steve – “Yes!  I’m just thinking.”  (I’m quite sure in his mind he was saying, “Woman….”).  Eli and I were biting our lips doing all we could not to snicker out loud.

Still hasn't moved....

Still hasn’t moved….

Me – “Babe, do you need some he-”  Steve – “NO, I DO NOT NEED HELP!”  

It’s about this time that Eli can no longer contain ourselves.  We were bent over laughing at this big guy stuck at the top of a ladder, willing himself to climb onto the roof but unable to do so. And the best part is I had been capturing the entire grueling process with my phone from the ground the entire time.

Steve –  “What are you doing?”  Me – “Well, if I ever get the time to blog again, this will make a good one so I had to get pictures.”

"Seriously?  You're taking pictures of this??"

“Seriously? You’re taking pictures of this??”

“So, give the readers a smile!”

I love this roofer.

I love this roofer.

Steve made his way back down to safety, but he kept the ladder in it’s place.  He knew Caleb was on his way home and wouldn’t be able to refuse a challenge that includes an extension ladder, a steep pitched roof, a caulk gun, and a free tank of gas (and with what a tank of gas for his truck costs, we may have come out cheaper calling a roofer).

 

About therigginslife

I'm a redeemed, sold-out believer in Jesus Christ, a daughter of the King of kings! My life has been abundantly blessed with an amazing, godly man and three precious sons. If I could sing all day long, I would; but not just any songs move me. I love all sorts of music, but I soar when I'm singing about my Savior. Almost as much as I love to sing, I love to write...so here goes nothin'...

One response »

Leave a Reply

